Thank you.

Kenny Kane
Stupid Cancer
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2016

On January 23rd, 2010, I showed up for my first day as an intern at the I’m Too Young For This! Cancer Foundation. I didn’t know much about young adult cancer, only that it was a cause worthy of me giving it everything I had. On April 30th, 2010, two loves of my life Koby and Hannah were born and a job offer soon followed.

There is no concise way of describing the past 6.5 years of working at Stupid Cancer. For someone who hadn’t flown prior to 2006 for fear of the worst, I’ve had the amazing fortune to travel to the far reaches of this country and abroad, spreading the word that young adults can and do get cancer.

Five road trips and 30,000 ground miles have allowed me to connect with cancer survivors and their loved ones in the most amazing ways possible.

It’s with a heavy heart that I announce that my chapter as an employee of Stupid Cancer is coming to a close at the end of May.

I am incredibly proud of what the volunteers, staff, and Board of Directors have accomplished and what the Stupid Cancer community embodies today. We are Stupid Cancer.

Prior to working in patient advocacy, I stood behind a pharmacy counter for 8 years. This experience taught me a lot about life, and sometimes death. It was during this time that cancer first entered my life, with my fathers’ testicular cancer diagnosis in May 2005.

At the end of the month, the love of my life, Lauren, and I will be relocating to Austin. I will be assuming the role of Executive Director of the Testicular Cancer Foundation effective June 1st.

I am excited to watch Stupid Cancer continue to grow in new and exciting ways and continue to be the voice of young adult cancer.

Thank you to the SC community for enriching my life beyond words and giving me purpose.

Keep swimming.

KK

--

--

Kenny Kane
Stupid Cancer

CEO at Firmspace • CEO at Testicular Cancer Foundation • CTO at GRYT Health