The Survivor (Thriver) Series: #12 Jeff Bryant

Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
5 min readMay 31, 2019

--

Jeff Bryant

SC: Tell us your name and where you are from:

JB: Jeff Bryant from New Jersey

SC: Tell us about yourself. What do you do for a living or what do you want to do?

JB: I am currently attending Flagler College in St. Augustine, Florida as a public history major.

SC: Are you a patient, survivor or caregiver (or combination)?

JB: Survivor

SC: Tell us your story:

JB: In June of 2014, I was diagnosed with a rare bone cancer known as Osteosarcoma. I underwent chemotherapy from that month until March of 2015, when I was declared cancer free. During that time period, I had my femur and knee replaced in September of 2014, along with two lung surgeries in November of 2014, and January of 2015. I played for my high school basketball team prior to treatment, which won the New Jersey Group 1 State Championship. However, I can no longer play due to the fact that my prosthesis cannot withstand the physical impact of the sport. In the fall of 2015, I entered into Flagler College in St. Augustine, Florida, but my prosthetic femur had loosened, which forced me to return home after two months of being away at college. My second femur and knee replacement took place in January of 2016. I returned to Flagler for the entire following school year, but then in the summer of 2017, I had to undergo yet another surgery. This time the screws of my prosthetic femur connected to my hip got loose, and I had to get those replaced. I return to school in the spring of 2018, but then that summer I had to have a fourth leg surgery. This time, my artificial knee and tibial connection of my prosthesis got loose, and they were replaced with a longer bottom stem and new artificial knee. However, it was done in just enough time for me to return for this current school year, and just around a month ago I had finally completed physical therapy after four years. A lot sure had happened in the last handful of years. However, I never gave up, and I just continued to be as positive as I could be throughout the entire situation. I was never going to let cancer beat me, and I worked as hard as I could with rehab, and did everything I could to get better. Next thing I know, I am finally moving forward with my life after enduring so many setbacks. Along the way, I have befriended several other patients going through similar circumstances at Memorial Sloan Kettering, where I was treated. Towards the end of my cancer treatment, an absolutely wonderful organization called the Frances Foundation had found me in the newspaper. I was an assistant coach with my high school basketball team during my year of chemotherapy, and was recorded into the Ocean Star and Asbury Park Press newspapers. Bob Heugel, the founder of the Frances Foundation, met with my family and I for lunch and granted us four tickets to the 2015 Indianapolis Final Four. Shortly after Chemo ended, my parents, best friend, and I experienced the trip of lifetime at the Final Four in April of 2015. My story was placed on NJ 12 News the following summer. During the fall of 2017, when I had to be home from college a second time, Liberato DeCicco, co-founder of the Frances Foundation, granted me tickets to three New York Giant football games, my favorite NFL team. It was a great way for me to have fun while also having to be back home from school to rehab from surgery again. I also went to places to do public speaking about my story to different crowds of people at events. This past St. Patrick’s Day marked four years cancer free for me. After going through the day, I had an idea. I decided to make an instagram blog with the username @beatbonecancer. Its purpose is to give information and tips on how to treat beat bone cancer, and raise awareness. I hope that by doing so, I can help those who have to fight the same battle, along with the rest of the community.

SC: What is the biggest lesson you have learned through this experience?

JB: Always keep a positive attitude, no matter what life throws at you. Everything happens for reason, and if you remain optimistic, work hard with rehab, and do the right things, things will work out for the better.

SC: What would you like to say to someone going through what you have gone through or are going through?

JB: Same as above.

Appreciate all of the great things life has granted to you, such as your family, friends, and whichever else you appreciate the most.

Do your rehab exercises around a couple of times a day. Also get out of the chemo room, walk around, and get involved with what the hospital has to offer. This is how you make the best of your time in treatment, and make some great friends.

If the opportunity comes, don’t be afraid to throw your story out there. You never know what kind of important connections you might get from doing so.

If one door closes, another one opens. For me, I can no longer play basketball due to my bone cancer in my leg. However, I am currently going to the college I love being at so much, and I am studying to work in museums and/or historic preservation, something that had always been a true passion of mine. Also, I got the opportunity to coach basketball, I’ve gotten to meet so many great people, and I got to go to the Final Four, which is every basketball person’s dream.

SC: What do you do that brings you most comfort and joy?

JB: Spend time with family, go out with friends, go to the beach, go site seeing and visit museums/historic sites, go kayaking, go visit new places I haven’t been when I am able to, work at museums and historical sites for my internships, watch football and basketball.

SC: What motivates you to keep going, smiling, fighting?

JB: Getting my leg better each and every day, working to get my college degree in the college I love being at, accomplishing my dream of working a career in history, having the love, care, and support of my family, friends, and the Frances Foundation.

SC: Any music, movies, books, art that have inspired you during your journey?

JB: Book: “What It Takes: Fighting For My Life and My Love For The Game” by Mark Herzlich.

Movie: “A Thousand To One” (Basketball film)

Music: The song “One Man Can Change The World” by Big Sean

Art: Have to think hard about that one

SC: Do you have a favorite quote, mantra or saying that has helped you during your journey?

JB: “Setbacks are just setups for comebacks.”-anonymous

“Be strong, you never know who you are inspiring.”-anonymous

“You never know how strong you are, until being strong is the only choice you have.”-anonymous

“Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life a champion.”-Muhammad Ali

Mantra saying: “God has a plan.”

Everyone at Stupid Cancer would like to extend an enormous thank you to Jeff for sharing his story with us and the community.

Follow him on Instagram at: https://www.instagram.com/beatbonecancer/

Together we are ending isolation and building community for those impacted by cancer.

--

--