The Survivor (Thriver) Series ~ Amanda Blauvelt: #17

Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
8 min readJun 28, 2019
Amanda Blauvelt

SC: Tell us your name and where you are from:

AB: Amanda Blauvelt Westwood, NJ

SC: Tell us about yourself. What do you do for a living or what do you want to do?

AB: I am a hairstylist/Barber

SC: Are you a patient, survivor or caregiver (or combination)?

AB: Current patient / former survivor

SC: Tell us your story:

AB: In 2015, I felt something odd in my left breast and being young, 32 at the time, I thought nothing of it. I had decided to wait a month to see if it was still there, then go to the doctor. Well the next month came and the thing was gone. I figured it was the normal swelling young girls get and went on with my life. April came and the lump thing was back triple the size and it hurt. Like really hurt, you could not touch it with invoking the worst pain ever. So I called my OBGYN and was brought in immediately. She sent me for just a sonogram. But when I got there the techs wanted to do a mammogram as well. I won’t bore you with all the craziness from that day, however we knew I needed to get a biopsy.

I went for my biopsy thinking it was just something that needed to be removed not the big c word. How wrong everyone was. I had to wait a week for results. Finally the call, yes the call, came. I had breast cancer. My doctor had me in panic mode, I was writing down all crazy numbers trying to remain calm because I was at work. I got off the phone and flipped out. Full on panic attack. That was April 23rd.

The next few days went by so fast and I was soon seeing my surgeon, on my moms birthday. She came with me. That’s where we found out what I had. I was diagnosed with Triple Negative Breast Cancer. We did a DNA test and found I was also BRCA1 positive. Totally normal for my type of cancer. The surgeon decided I was going to have to do chemotherapy first because of the placement of the lump. And off I went to my new oncologist.

My new oncologist was great and I was sent to do IVF and get a port. I swear everything happened so fast. But soon a person who have never knowingly had surgery was having two in a matter of days. It was just a whirlwind. But I soon was in chemo.

Chemo sucks! I had to do A/C first, commonly know as the red devil. I got sick only on my first round but it went fine after that. I had taxol carbo as well after the A/C was done. I only got neuropathy from that. Which I still have to this day. Once on taxol carb it was a breeze. I wish work was the same but that was not the case. My job and boss didn’t care I was sick and still trying to do my job. She didn’t let me have breaks and soon I was forced by doctors orders to go out on disability. I did not like being out but it was my only choice.

I finished chemo and was sent back to my surgeon. I want for my MRI to see how the chemo worked. Well there was no lump but there was things on my liver. So after like a hundred MRI’s and a pet scan, we found out that it was nothing. And off to surgery. I met my favorite, and my hero Dr. Farkas, my plastic surgeon. We chose to do a DIEP FLAP. But we had to do two surgeries to get it done. We were doing a double bilateral mastectomy with expanders. Although at the time I was told it was going to be one and done. That’s when I didn’t want reconstruction. And Dr. Farkas was backing my choice. However my surgeon didn’t agree and we got into a big fight. Long story short my surgeon won out and I went to surgery. Only because Dr. was going to be there and would be there when I woke up. I do have to say to my breast surgeon’s credit she held my hand and stroked my head as I was put out.

After surgery, I found out there was no evidence of disease. That there was a complete response to chemo. At the time we just thought was awesome but now we know it means a lot more than that. I went back to my oncologist and was told I was had to see the radiology oncologist. I freaked out. I had been told no radiation! But I went to see him. I decided to go through and get 25 rounds of radiation. I still have burns and issues because of this choice. Then I was done with active treatment. Because I have triple negative breast cancer I didn’t have anymore drugs to take and I was on my own.

So a year went by and I waited to get the next reconstruction surgery. Thankful I did because the radiation had totally done so much damage to my left breast. My 8 hour surgery took 10 hours. I got the diep flap done and I wish I could say that went smoothly, but then I would be lying. I had a lot of issues and most were healing problems. I had to have an extra surgery because my stomach incision wouldn’t close on it own and some others on my left breast. I am still dealing with this because the skin is not in great shape. However they are almost completely closed now. This all happened in 2017.

I wish that was the end of my cancer story, but it’s not. In December of 2018 while dealing with the healing issues of my left breast, I had an insurance issue and couldn’t see a doctor for like two weeks. They had lost a check of something. It was a computer error. During this time I felt something in my right breast. I was nervous it was something but I figured once all was right with the issue, i would call my surgeon. Well the day came and all was right in the world of insurance. So after leaving my dermatologist office, I called my surgeon’s office. I got an appointment right away. We started all over again. I got a sonogram and the had go back for a biopsy. I was fine because I had my plan all laid out whether it was good news or bad. I knew we were taking this out. And I was just happy I got to watch the biopsy, I like seeing inside my body. I got my call from my surgeon a few days later to go in and see her. She had me sit in her office and told me the news no cancer survivor wants to hear. “YOU HAVE CANCER!” I wish I could say I was shocked, but I wasn’t. It turns out it was the same type of cancer, triple negative breast cancer. So we did the same process all over again. Found that I was going to chemo first again.

Soon I was with my awesome new oncologist, my original one left during my three years of being a survivor. I love my new oncologist. He and I talked about what we were going to do. I also found out that this was its own new cancer. Weird right but awesome because I got to do the same treatment again. My chemo nurse was now my doctors nurse and with her help we mad adjustments to my pre-meds so I wouldn’t get as sick last time. I asked my oncologist if I get super powers now. To which he laughed and said yes. Told you he is awesome.

Chemo started in January with my first round of the red devil. By the way it’s the last time I ever have to do A/C again, I hit my life time dose. Currently I am doing taxol and carbo. My counts are low and we are talking about blood transfusions but over all I am doing well.

The next step is surgery and after that we don’t know what is going to happen. I am taking it one step at a time and trying not to let my mind race too much. I am just hoping for the same results after surgery, a complete response. And I won’t let myself think that won’t happen, sometimes the law of attraction has its points.

SC: What is the biggest lesson you have learned through this experience?

AB: The biggest lesson I learned from all this is that I am so much stronger than I ever thought. That I am able to do anything I set my mind too. And I just grateful for all the people in my life.

SC: What would you like to say to someone going through what you have gone through or are going through?

AB: My BIGGEST advice is to do everything one step at a time. Get your team together. Family, friends, doctors and other health care providers first. Then work through each step one at a time. You can’t do it all at once, you will go crazy.

SC: What do you do that brings you most comfort and joy?

AB: Honestly the thing that brings most joy right now is making my chemo sings for each treatment, journaling and using my Instagram as blog for my recovery.

SC: What motivates you to keep going, smiling, fighting?

AB: I know I beat triple negative breast cancer once, so I know I will do it again. But I’m not all smiles all the time. I let my self be sad and cry if I have to but then I have a time limit for that. After it’s up I make my self smile, even if I don’t feel like it, and soon I feel better. Then I’m smiling for real. If I need to decompress I meditate or color or even zen tangle. My biggest motivator to keep going is the belief I have that I will live to at least 100 years old, and nothing not even cancer is going to stop that.

SC: Any music, movies, books, art that have inspired you during your journey?

AB: Last time my song was shut up and dance by walk the moon. Funny thing this time it is one foot also by walk the moon. My comic book character obsession inspires me a lot because I am a super hero to many of my friends and they are always featured on my signs. My favorite movies that have inspired me are 50/50 and I miss you already. I don’t recommend them if you have a trigger to characters dealing with cancer but they mean a lot to me because of their message.

SC: Do you have a favorite quote, mantra or saying that has helped you during your journey?

AB: I have a few quotes to live by. First is; “It is what it is.” Because I can’t change what is going on but I can decide how I am going to handle what is going on. Second, “ Don’t let anyone dull your sparkle.” This is just a good one to live by. And lastly, “REPEAT AFTER ME: My current situation is NOT MY FINAL DESTINATION!” This is my quote every time something doesn’t go the way we planned. And as a thriver this happens a lot.

Everyone at Stupid Cancer would like to extend an enormous thank you to Amanda for sharing her story with us and the community.

Follow her on Instagram at: https://www.instagram.com/manda2482/

Together we are ending isolation and building community for those impacted by cancer.

--

--