The All-rounder — Dan Ram… Early Beginnings

Alen Joseph
Stuture
Published in
4 min readAug 15, 2016

“All rounder” A word you might have of heard often, I don’t think there is any other word in the English language that could possibly describe the man in this article. From a Youth Pastor to being a Radio Jockey on Spirit Radio to representing the Irish Startup Community at the Oireachtas, the title ‘All-rounder” perfectly fits him (I hope he is okay with it). The array of activities and projects that he is involved in are countless (I mean literally countless, I am probably right in saying that he lost count of them himself ) He is also a person that doesn’t settle with what he has, he likes to be challenged. I think this brings out the best in him. The person I am talking about is Daniel Ramamoorthy, From what I know I think he personally likes to be called Dan Ram! (Since it’s a lot easier to pronounce and why not? It’s catchy!). So for that reason I am going to refer to Daniel as Dan for the rest of this article.

“I’m obsessed with dreaming and building” (That’s one of the many things he said, don’t get too excited there are more “quotes” on the way.)

What better way to describe a person than to describe their upbringing because all of us, whether young or old have been influenced by how we were brought up and the experiences we had as children. Well it would be boring to tell you all this and then say that he had a typical upbringing, like us. Well he didn’t. Dan wasn’t raised like most of us. His father was an Indian diplomat and as part of his job he moved around the world with his family. Dan moved from one country to another, not staying, but “actually living” in each of the country for no more than 3 years. He is nearly 30 now, so if you do the maths, he has lived his life in 10 different places, or more like in 10 different countries. So just put yourself in his shoes and imagine being told that you would be packing everything and moving away to another country, maybe even to another continent where you neither spoke the language and where you neither knew any one.

Adults struggle with this, even when they move jobs but imagine how it would affect a child or a teenager. (I know it’s hard to imagine it, I tried it myself). Well Dan took it in his stride to experience the countries he was in as much as possible. He was in Zimbabwe during his late teenage years and one of the incidents he had was being “chased by a lion”. Well that’s pretty impressive, (I mean, how many people in the world can say that they have survived through a lion chase, well I certainly haven’t met that much people who could recall something like that in their past).

I think this and a lot of other interesting things happened in his life, has really moulded him into who he is, a very diverse person. What I mean by this is that he has dipped his fingers into an array of activities and projects and so much more (like I said…uncountable…is that even a word?). We had the privilege of talking to many successful people over the course of our 2 weeks of Internship and every one of them was amazing in their own unique way. The difference with Dan was that we were able to shadow him for a rather long while. We never had this kind of opportunity with others, we got an insight into his life, which was really exciting and fun. What a thrilling childhood did Dan have!

--

--

Alen Joseph
Stuture
Editor for

A random guy who is trying to do something worthwhile with his spare time :)