Sasha Anne On Influencing The Beauty Industry & Success Of Teeny Wee Cosmetics

Surabhi Verma
Style & Beauty Inc
Published in
5 min readOct 17, 2019

Our audience is keen to read about the stories of entrepreneurs creating a difference in the world. Tell us about yourself and your area of work.

I am Sasha Anne, I’m a beauty influencer, founder of Teeny Wee Cosmetics and a musician. I found out that I had dyslexia when I was in 3rd grade. It was very hard for me to express myself. As I got older I found the power of makeup and I could express myself through different makeup looks based on my emotions and also express myself through dance and music. I always loved to create dances and write songs. When I was 17, I wanted to create my own cosmetics company. I followed my passion and dreams of creating a makeup
company and still writing songs. I want to inspire people and show them that my dyslexia didn’t get in the way of following my passion and dreams. Anyone can do whatever their heart desires if you put your all into it and if you are passionate about it.

Your story is something many readers would love to relate to. In detail, tell us about your journey behind creating a successful personal brand.

As I mentioned before, I started my makeup company when I was 17. I thought to myself, “what can I come out with that no one else has and that’s not out on the market yet.” I remembered that when my mom goes out at night she always brings her a small evening bag. But the problem was, her phone couldn’t fit into her clutch with a regular size gloss or lipstick. So she had to hand her lipgloss or lipstick to my dad. Then I said “ah-ha!”, I can make a tiny lip gloss that can fit into your purse or pocket, people can take it on the go. It was brilliant!

In times of extreme competition, creating regular content for social media is overwhelming for many. How do you keep up with your social strategy?

Whenever I have something that I want to post, I send it to my social media manager and he comes up with the caption and does the hashtags for me. It
does get overwhelming so he helps me figure out what is necessary to post and what isn’t. I also have to stay on 1 path and be clear on who my audience is, and who I’m trying to speak to. It makes your marketing efforts so much easier. My audience is teens and tweens.

Being an entrepreneur comes with added workload and responsibilities. How do you deal with stress and work pressure on a day to day basis?

It can get overwhelming at times especially when I’m in class and I get multiple emails of interview questions plus I remember that I have a test coming up. I am always working on time management. I think of when everything is due and then I figure out what my priority is at that moment. I also always write things down in my calendar so I don’t forget. When I forget to do something and it’s due soon, I get so stressed. So time management is
definitely key and also I need to take a breather every once in a while. I need to realize I’m not a working machine. I’m a human being and my mental health does come first.

In these times when there is an uprise in the number of influencers, how do you keep up with the growing competition, especially when every other person calls himself to be a blogger or influencer? What are the strategies that you apply in general?

There is no specific number in my opinion but once you
hit 10k, you can get sponsored posts. I say focus on yourself and who you are. Don’t focus on other people’s success or else you won’t grow and you will just get frustrated. There is a lot of competition out there so I always think to myself what makes me unique. What am I doing that no one else is?

What is your dream about taking your personal brand to the next level? How do you plan to grow it in the next few years?

My dream is to be the face of my own company. I would like to expand my
company and create an eyeshadow palette.

What advice would you like to give to the coming of age entrepreneurs/ influencers?

My advice would be to be yourself no matter what people tell you. Listen to criticism from professionals because they know what they’re talking about. The hardest thing for me when I was first starting out and still is a challenge is not focusing on your competition and other people’s success. If you focus
on others, you won’t grow. I still need to remind myself that. I am focused on my career and not comparing myself to others and it makes a huge difference. It really keeps my head in gear.

Where all can our audience connect with you?

Your audience can connect with me on all my social
media. @simplysashaanne on Instagram and Twitter, Sasha Anne on Facebook and YouTube. I also started a Tik Tok @simplysashaanne.

--

--

Surabhi Verma
Style & Beauty Inc

Author: And She Quit Her Job, Founding Editor ‘The Inception’ on Medium, Entertainment Journalist (The Times Group), Former Copy Editor (Hindustan Times).