#NewBeautyStandard

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2018

Beauty is defined in so many different ways. At Style Squad, we think people’s unique qualities and features are what make them beautiful and that’s what we want to celebrate. Regardless of what you might have heard or seen in media through the years, true beauty isn’t defined by proportions. You don’t need to be a size 2 to be beautiful. Your chest and booty don’t have to be a certain size. Your hair doesn’t have to be straight, curly, short, long, and the list goes on. Yes, it’s been shifting and there has been more diversity in media and advertising. We are also seeing more diversity thanks to social media platforms like Instagram. But we want to remind you: you’re beautiful because of who you are.

Join us in celebrating what makes you unique by using the hashtag #newbeautystandard.

Let’s get this movement started…

I’ll start. My name is Jolene, the founder of Style Squad.

One thing that makes me unique is my balance of elegance and grit. I don’t crave the spotlight and I carry myself in a reserved way that doesn’t demand attention. At the same time, I work relentlessly towards my goals in a way that can surprise people. I want my work to do the talking. I don’t have to be loud and extroverted for others to know I mean business, but I used to think so. I thought I had to be different to be considered a business person or leader.

Now I’m owning my balance of elegance and grit, and my personal style reflects this. I like wearing classic pieces and timeless prints like polka dots. Sometimes, I like to throw in a funky piece in the mix like leopard print, or a moto jacket which can be a nod to be my “grit.” #newbeautystandard

Meet Victor, one of Style Squad’s Ad/PR Interns.

“Something that makes me unique is my hair. For three years now, I’ve been dying it vibrant colors- from pinks, to blues, and even gray. I’ve done this as a mechanism to express my eclectic personality and my creative side. Because I like to keep the focus on my hair, I keep my wardrobe low-key and wear monochrome colors. Sometimes when I feel like getting a little more dressed up, I like to wear statement pieces like button ups with cool patterns. At first I was scared of standing out or looking different, but over the years I’ve learned to accept that diversity is just as beautiful through my ever-changing hair.” #newbeautystandard

Lastly, meet Caroline- our other Ad/PR Intern.

“The new beauty standard hashtag is important because it reminds me to love my unique qualities. I personally have always struggled to embrace my curls, but have recently decided to start wearing my hair naturally again. I definitely think there is something empowering about choosing to love yourself the way you are, rather than trying to somehow conform. When I get dressed now, one of my favorite accessories is my curly hair.” #newbeautystandard

Now it’s your turn! You can join us on Instagram by posting a photo and telling us a unique quality that makes you beautiful using the hashtag #newbeautystandard. Tag @stylesquadapp and we’ll feature our favorites in our stories. You can also join in through Twitter using the hashtag #newbeautystandard.

--

--

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD

Founder and CEO of Style Squad. @stylesquadapp. Helping others embrace their unique beauty through their style.