One Piece, Three Ways

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2018

We live in a world where the line between digital life and real life can sometimes be blurred. We forget that what we see online isn’t always what it seems. For example, on Instagram we may follow fashion bloggers who seem to have a whole new outfit every single day. We often forget that since they are influencers they are often gifted clothes from brands. Sometimes they are shooting multiple looks in one day just to plan out their feed. It isn’t practical for most people to wear a whole new outfit everyday and in my opinion we shouldn’t feel like we have to. I think we should focus more on intentionally buying pieces we know we will get great use out of. Not to mention it is better for the environment. Less resources and energy is used and less waste is created in the long- run. I personally love seeing how people can creatively style a piece multiple ways. It’s a practical way of creating different looks by reinventing pieces.

For this blog post, I took my white long skirt and styled it three different ways. I particularly love turning the long skirt into a strapless dress during the summer.

For the first look, I threw on a denim jacket for a more casual daytime look. I added a braided brown belt to cinch my waist and add more shape. For the shoes, I chose my go-to block heel sandals.

For the second look, I changed out the belt for a black fabric belt I took from an old dress and switched out the nude block heels for black stilettos. Just from changing my belt and shoes, it looks like I’m ready for a fancier occasion.

For the last look I wore the white long skirt as it was intended. I paired it with my silk orange camisole and denim jacket. I chose to wear my leopard pumps to make the look more fun since the rest of the outfit is solid colors. If you’re just starting to mix fun prints into your wardrobe, adding a pop of pattern where the rest of your outfit is solid is a great first step. It’s a good way to get comfortable with prints before diving in and mixing them together.

See how easy it can be to remix different outfits in your wardrobe? All it takes is a little bit of creativity. Now it’s your turn. Try taking a piece from your closet and wearing it in a new way. Most importantly, have fun with it!

Need some feedback on your remixed outfits? Post your looks on the Style Squad app for instant feedback and style advice.

--

--

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD

Founder and CEO of Style Squad. @stylesquadapp. Helping others embrace their unique beauty through their style.