Style Tips From Tall and Curvy Fashion Blogger Nubiana Todd

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD
Published in
4 min readNov 15, 2017

I had the opportunity to meet fashion blogger Nubiana Lilouette on a recent blogger’s retreat and — dang this girl is beautiful and has such great style. On the retreat, Nubiana and I had a conversation about how most fashion publications only show one body type so it’s hard for girls to learn how to dress for any other body type but the one consistently shown.

Part of having great style is knowing what cuts and styles work best for you! It’s okay if your body doesn’t match the girls in the catalogs and magazines- you can still have great style! To feel the most confident it’s best to know what features you love and want to accentuate. If there are any insecurities or features you don’t want to show off it helps to keep this in mind when picking out clothing and styles.

NUBIANA’S STYLE TIPS

  1. Fit is everything. Something that is too tight will cut you off in all the wrong places, and items that are oversized (that weren’t originally meant to be that way) will hide your shape. Don’t be afraid to get anything tailored!

2. Going off of my first tip, make sure you pick out clothes for your current body rather than your future one. It’s great to have goals, but you have to take care of your current self while working on your future self.

3. Don’t be afraid to try new trends. If there’s a store that you know you’ll be able to find figure-flattering clothes at, start there to look for the trends you want to try (i.e. ruffles, ‘mom’ jeans). ASOS is my favorite fast fashion retailer, because there are so many sizes and inseams to choose from, allowing me to try new trends without breaking the bank.

4. Pick your favorite body part to accentuate. I have long legs, so I’m all about wearing short-to-midi skirts 75% of the year, and sleek, dark denim the rest of the year. If you have great shoulders, don’t be afraid to try some off-the-shoulder or cold shoulder tops!

5. Jeans, jeans, jeans. It’s so hard to find the perfect pair, am I right? When you find “the ones,” go ahead and buy them in every wash you like. The same goes for basic dresses and tops that you can use to build your wardrobe. My go-to jeans are from American Eagle and Topshop, and my favorite knit dresses are James Perse. Since I like a slimmer fit on both my jeans and dresses, I tend to stick to neutral shades and dark washes.

6. When looking for inspiration, only use magazine ‘shape guides’ as a starting point. We’ve all read those articles that claim to have the perfect jeans/dress/top for your shape. The editors mean more good than harm, but understand that you CAN branch out based on your personal style. Wear what fits and makes you feel good!

7. Spend time editing your wardrobe. Although I do love pops of color, I make sure they’re in all the right places, and I tend to refrain from wearing busy patterns in my problem areas. I also try on all of my outfits in front of a full length mirror before I leave the house to make sure my look is cohesive; something as small as choosing the wrong shoe silhouette might make you look more frumpy than you want to.

Nubiana gets her style inspiration by following celebrity stylists on Instagram like Monica Rose who styles Hollywood it girls including Gigi Hadid, Chanel Iman, Kendall Jenner, and many others. Although they aren’t her body type she is able to translate the inspiration to something that works for her. This may not be as easy for everyone, but nowadays it’s easy to find inspiration for different body types on Instagram. If you like Nubiana’s style follow her Instagram @nubianaliloutee for Tall and Curvy fashion inspiration.

Need instant feedback or style advice on your outfits? Download our app now in the app store:

apple.co/2hiSWhb

--

--

Jolene Taracatac
STYLE SQUAD

Founder and CEO of Style Squad. @stylesquadapp. Helping others embrace their unique beauty through their style.