Oyinfayo
StyleByFayo
Published in
5 min readApr 13, 2021

--

MY FIRST EPISODE OF BEING A BAD CHILD!

Calm down abeg! It is not that deep.

I am sure many of you, rebels will not consider this a big crime, and the Lagosians? This post is not your business. I don’t want to hear pimmm! Even though we stay in the same country, our time zone is different.

CONTEXT: I stay in Ibadan with my mother and three siblings, my dad stays in a different state. To my mum, I am a very responsible daughter, we argue a lot, but asides from the argument? I don’t pass my curfew and I don’t cause her distress.

MAJOR CHARACTERS

Oyinfayo (Me): The Protagonist

Jesutoye (My younger brother): The Villian

Victor (Our friend): The Antagonist

Rhoda (My friend): The Supporter

Mamacita (My mum): The Accuser

Exactly, 4’o clock on Sunday, our friend came to visit. (Victor, I and Jesutoye went to the same secondary school) After plenty of gist and activities? Victor decided to take us out. Omo! This is a good deal, I had several classes, assignments, activities, and fighting with MTN in my head with the crazy data consumption last week. So, I jumped on it. Na crazy jump I jump.

My brother and Victor came up with this not so foolish idea that we should go and watch a movie. Ah! Movie by almost 8 pm? Toye Ah bah, I was so against it. Both of them sha started giving me ginger. Their promises goes thus, “We will take Bolt, get home late but we will be safe.” My people, God is the only one that promises and never fails.

My body, instincts understood this was a very bad idea, but the ginger coming from Toye and Victor was so promising and convincing. I couldn’t tell my mum or prefabricate where we were going. So I nudged my brother (Jesutoye) to do the talking. He told mum we were going to eat out nearby. She thought it was the close restaurant to my house, so she agreed.

At exactly 7:54 pm, we got to the junction, ordered a Bolt. Then waited for our ride for 10 minutes.

The first video at the mallThe first video at the mall

We got to the mall at exactly, 8:28 pm (The movie we initially came for ended earlier than expected, so we signed up for Ponzi (A very hilarious movie). As humorous as Ponzi is? I could not watch the movie in peace. I was so worried that my mum will be bothered. Then, I texted her without telling my crime acquaintances. She read and didn’t reply.

The Whatsapp message I sent to mum. Note: We were the only ones in the cinema, so it was easy to record.

No one had to tell me that I was in trouble. The movie ended at 10:30, Omo! I was so freaking worried. I tried to order Bolt, but we didn’t get any ride nearby. When we got out of the movies. The whole building was locked. Ah! We rushed to back to the guy, then he was like we should go through a lift to the entrance. The way the lift is, it can only take you down, it can’t take you back to where you came from. After passing the lifts? We realized that everywhere downstairs was locked, there was no way up neither is there is a way out. Omo! I dey shake, by then, it was already to 11. My mum had called like a million and one times.

Luckily for us, a guy appeared and asked where we were going? We told him and he said we should follow him. Did we follow a stranger? Apparently! He led us to the emergency exit. By the time we got out, it was so silent. I almost thought there was a curfew. We were the only ones walking on the streets. We found a bike, just a single bike that took the three of us. The bike man was like a savior.

When we got to the Roundabout, there were still pretty rosy movements. It was easy for us to get a bike but the bike man took me must have just finished bathing with alcohol. He was running and dancing. I didn’t say Pimm! I was just calling Jesus.

This is Iwo road at past 11 pm

When we got to Alakia, junction. There was no single spirit in that street, I didn’t even bring out my phone to take pictures, It was scary, but luckily for us, there was light. We had to treck from Alakia junction to our place. Victor stays a street before ours, so he left. (Did I remember to tell you Victor and my brother was so relax in the middle of all this)

We got home at precisely 11:25 pm. Omo! I heard, pim! Puuu! Paa. My mother insulted me ehn.

The most interesting thing she said was “Sadly, I didn’t disappoint her, I disappointed myself.” Hehehehe. Oya ask me? Did you think I feel disappointed in myself? Obviously no! I had a fun day.

My conversation with Rhoda Olabisi after hearing the insult of my life. Of course, she knew about it

The question now is do I regret it? Nope, I don’t. In fact, I can do it again.

Do you have similar experiences, perhaps yours is worst? Share, I won’t judge you. I promise.

My name is Oyinfayo. Follow me, clap very well and you will be my friend.

--

--

Oyinfayo
StyleByFayo

A creative human on a journey of self discovery