Award Winning Actress Omowunmi Dada Talks About Life & Entrepreneurial Vision

Avantika Roohi Kansal
Styleged
Published in
4 min readMay 24, 2022

Our readers would love to know about the incredible work you are doing. Please tell us about yourself and your work profile.

My name is Omowunmi Dada, I live in Lagos Nigeria. I am a multiple award winning actor and voice artist. I am an advocate for children living with cancer as well. I have featured quite a number of tv productions ( movies and Series), Theatre productions, Animations, radio drama and jingles.

You have a huge social media presence and a strong fanbase. How do you juggle acting, philanthropy, and life as an influencer?

I honestly believe that when you are passionate about certain things, you create time for it. Acting is my first love in the Arts and it’s also a ministry to me. I believe film is a tool to shaping the society, to educate, entertain and proffer solutions to societal ills. As an African, it’s a major medium of telling African stories to the world. I am in love with every inch of it so I create and devote time in getting better at it.

In addition, I believe that I was made to put smiles on peoples faces. I go out of my way to make sure that people around me are comfortable and they live a good life. I know that changing the society should start with YOU! One individual at a time and I create time and avenues to give, support and show love as much as possible to people and Charity organization.

Life as an influencer is almost a daily thing. With the spotlight and attention that comes with the work as an actor, you in turn influence.

With more power comes greater responsibility. How do you remain strong in your mind, body, and spirit when there is so much on your plate?

I am very intentional about what I allow around me. The kind of energy I permit has to be one of Happiness and joy! If there’s one thing I have constantly told myself from the start of my career, It is NEVER TO FORGET WHO I AM. Never forget who the Real Omowunmi is, amidst the fame and all the career success. I like to enjoy my personal space and the comfort of my home when I’m not working. It’s safe to say I’m an AMBIVERT.

I can be the life of a gathering, making everyone smile still I can be that person who just wants to be home. I love to read books, meditate and listen to MUSIC. In fact I can not do without music daily. It’s like food to my soul. And I love to get close to God( my creator) through reading the Bible , prayers and thanksgiving. That uplifts my spirit. When I can i go to the cinemas to watch movies, go dance Salsa and hangout or have dinner with few friends.

We would love to know about your ongoing and upcoming projects. Would you like to spill some beans on the same?

Most of the upcoming projects are quite private as we have signed NDAs not to disclose information about them. However I can say some of my upcoming projects are a Biopic, film adaptation of a literary piece and film about an African mythology character.

How can our readers connect with you? Where can we find more about your work?

Readers can connect with me via email bookomowunmidada@gmail.com

On Instagram @omowunmi_dada

On twitter @dadaomowunmi

On IMDB as Omowunmi Dada

They can get to watch some of my works in Cinemas in Nigerian, Netflix, Amazon prime, YouTube, Africa magic platforms and Irokotv app.

--

--