The Importance of Stories

Nadia Fatafta
SU 2021 British Literature
2 min readJul 24, 2021

Stories play an intregal part in our lives. Whether it be passing down traditions, imparting upon us cautionary tales, or to simply soothe our fears about the unknown, stories provide us with the ability to live on in moments and be apart of later generations.

When I was younger, my mother would tell me a Korean folk tale about a young girl who was forced into slavery and ultimately saved by a wealthy hero. My Father passed on arabic fairytales when he would tuck me into bed at night. Each connecting me to a different part of my culture as a first generation American. These stories gave me an identity to hold on to, a past to remember and love, as I forged an American independence.

Navigating the world without a map would see anyone lost at sea. Stories provide a path rich with detail and understanding making it easier on each subsequent generation. Without my mother and father retelling their stories to me, and without my grandparents telling them their stories, I might be more wayward than I find myself now. Stories give a firm foundation to stand on, and to look back on providing a legacy. Beowulf knew this when we decided he would be immortalized as the man who died fighting a dragon to protect his people. His glory lives on, his sacrifice giving others a better chance at life.

In The Canterbury Tales it was important to begin with recanting of spring and the pilgrimages during this time to better understand the narrortor and his situation. The past context providing insight into the upcoming future of the story and something to reflect on as the reader endeavors to read deeper into the story.

Whether we find ourselves gathered around a kitchen table with friends and family, standing in the corner with someone at a party, or tucking our children into bed, stories are what help escape the mundane and validate our feelings as human beings.

--

--