THE ART OF LIVING

INTENTIONALLY CHOOSING LIFE

--

Photo by rawpixel

As I sit listening to a Goalcast video about ‘Life-changing lessons from my grandmother’ by Kenny Leon sent to me by a friend, something clicks in my mind.

In the midst of a fast pacing world that can quickly get you absorbed in being busy rather than productive, do we ever pause to simply be optimistic about everything happening around us? I keep reminding myself that life has no script because nothing is clearly outlined. We are bound by the free will to choose. And as they say, choices have ramifications as the willingness to choose a path for ourselves is solely dependent on us.

But think about it, who really makes the choices?

Society. Parents. Doctors. Evangelical authorities. Teachers. Name them.

Truth is, people around us make decisions for us. They fail to understand that the end thought lies with us. Therefore, most of the narratives we live to embody and propagate are a product of the people around us. The will to choose is powerful. I wish people around us guided our thought processes to choose in order to remove the caution tapes laying around our hearts, our eyes and world. We have lost our power to other people’s narratives. We have lost who we are, what we stand for and how we react to situations.

From my generation to others, I wish youths would choose the careers they want, get paid to do what they love, create safe spaces for themselves and those who come after them. I wish the burden of blame would not be passed from generation to generation and that the freedom of choice could outlive the scare of what lies ahead of us.

In order for us to create safe spaces for the youth, there is need to let the narratives be driven by youth, for youth, with youth and with genuine convictions to make those spaces thrive as a foundation guide to those that come after.

The true worth of anyone is not hidden in the number of zeros in their account, rather the meaning they attach to every waking minute and moment of their life. The secret is to live. To live through the lessons, the tough times, the struggle, the freedom, the will to choose and most importantly learn and listen more. I wish as I grew up I was told to start, do, go ahead and try rather than being constantly reminded to watch out, look out for mistakes or fail.

I wish it was easier done than said but I am learning progress not perfection. To understand that the future is a possibility that is mostly undermined by my ego, my procrastination, my comparison, my audacity to try new things, my willingness to defy the odds and set my own standards and most times cross that line to see what lies beyond my fears. I am learning a lot from those whose shoulders we stand upon about life. Learning that life is beautiful, that the universe reflects what we reflect ourselves, that mistakes are learning opportunities, that love is a process, a test and a possibility.

I hope the pressure of fitting in sets you free, to live by your own rules, break rules, cry, love and laugh unconditionally. I wish you find solace in your self-worth, value, acceptance and not from social media glorification or numbers. Living truly and richly is your lifeline.

So choose to live!

Live harder!

Live better!

Sub Saharan International Model United Nations (SAIMUN) is a five-day international relations simulation for both high school and university/college students that is held annually at the United Nations Office in Nairobi (UNON) Gigiri. The international meeting is attended by more than 800 students from all over the world, in which they debate the major issues of the international political agenda. SAIMUN19 now beckons all of us to once again take part. The theme is “Youth Leadership at its Peak:The role of the Youth In Sustainable Development” It will be held from 8th -12th July 2019, so make sure your calendars are marked!

SAIMUN also strives to offer an all-rounded journalism experience to the media team through simulating different media: a newspaper —
The Daily SAIMUNER, a video news channel on YouTube — SAIMUN News, this blog along with various social media platforms. To get all this and more, subscribe to our mailing list below.

Sub-Saharan International Model United Nations Newsletter
Sub-Saharan International Model United Nations Newsletter Email Formssaimun.us14.list-manage.com

Liked this post? Click the 👏 below the post so more people can find it! Also, come chat with us on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram :)

--

--

GRACE KYALO
Sub-Saharan International Model United Nations

|The Future Of Radio| Podcaster @theforpodcast on SoundCloud and IG |Mentored at Emerging Leaders Foundation |