Niko Simonson

Substantial
Substantial
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2019

Design at Substantial

📸@dmotif

Niko’s a senior designer and front-end developer who’s been with us for three years. When we asked Niko to tell us a bit about himself, he said:

“I’ve meandered my way between aerospace engineering, anthropology, a nonprofit newspaper, design, coding, and soon, dad stuff. My favorite food is tacos . . . Somehow I ended up with the title UI Engineer, but I think of myself as a designer that likes to code. I work on everything from user research to product strategy and from interface design to its implementation. I’ve never been much into pigeonholes, so basically I like to do anything that helps our clients make better decisions and build better products.”

We also asked Niko “What’s your favorite part of office culture?”

“Sounds cliche, but there really are no stupid questions. No one will ever make you feel dumb for not knowing something. We even form clubs so we can learn stuff and nerd out together…”

Learn more about the Substantial team and culture by visiting our Instagram or sign up for our newsletter to keep tabs on all we do at substantial.com.

--

--