dream kaleidoscope

Emile Westergaard
Subway Karma: Collected poems
1 min readSep 1, 2018

Air sharp, ground firm, I’d ask your mind
but you’d have to turn and look me in the eye
You look away
You hear me, but don’t want to know what I’m saying

What are you so afraid of?
You were right, they wrong,
you weak, they strong,
you a prisoner, they belong

Prison your mind, only you hold the key,
to unlock is clear if you know where to look,
words written, go buy the book,

but you’d rather be your own master and slave,
better keep to yourself than let yourself be saved
better tighten your fist than give it all away,

every penny, every hope in your dream kaleidoscope,
painted on your wall, your own design you refuse to leave behind

I watch you suffer, would hand you my key,
but mine is mine, it won’t open your door
My glasses won’t help you see,
just make everything blurry

You look at me with angry eyes,
fear mirrored, empty as air
I watch and listen, try not to guide,
only a distraction, the quieter I am,
the more you hear

Subway Karma is a collection of poems by Hong

--

--