drunk on you

Emile Westergaard
Subway Karma: Collected poems
2 min readNov 7, 2018

Ok, let’s see
You rail at me
I watch your words on the screen,
watch you vent your rage as I sit outside your cage

Are you angry with me for escaping, finally getting free,
or just making you see yourself too clearly?
Are you unhappy with your life and need me to blame,
or running from some deep hidden shame?

I watch the vitriol, check how I feel,
not shaken like before, but something is real
I’ll let it go, won’t respond
Could say I’m right, could say you’re wrong,
but it’s all opinion, and not one I can change
Your mind is yours
Go ahead and rearrange it any way you want
Hate me every day

But when you look in our angels' eyes they cannot lie
You cannot deny
Anyway, it will be alright
We’re headed to the same place I suppose
Some say they’re not sure, but I know

Every day I let a little bit more of the drama go,
an actor in your constellation anyway the lines are drawn
The harder you hit the harder I fall
The harder I fall the higher I bounce

Deer in the headlights, frozen in place, you say I’m a disgrace
Somewhere inside, my hate still there, I slam down your head,
pull back your hair, a knockdown drag out all-in fight
to once and for all decide who is right
Diplomacy died, all that’s left now is war,
I’ll kill you with love like I couldn’t before

You swing and swing but nothing is there
My body erased, I float in mid-air without a care,
only moment to pause, give applause to the cause,
widen my jaws, come in for a bite, Dracula drunk on you

--

--