The Importance of Pushing Yourself

Strategies for Overcoming Obstacles in Your Leadership Journey

James D. Washington, DBA
Success and Beyond
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2023

--

As a leader, there are moments when you have to step up and take charge, even when you feel unprepared. In this post, I’ll share a personal story about a time when I had to step up as a leader and take on a new challenge.

It all started when I took over managing the imaging department at a hospital where I had previously served as an Improvement Advisor. I had to learn how the department operated and the team’s goals. I came in with no prior experience in the imaging field, and I knew I had to work hard to earn the trust of my team.

Just two weeks into my time as the manager, the department director informed me that he would resign within two weeks. Suddenly, I had to step up from being a manager to head of the imaging department. This was a pivotal moment in my leadership journey, and I knew I had to take charge and lead the team through a transition period.

It was a challenging time, but I knew that I had to stay focused and keep pushing forward.

Looking back on that experience, I learned that sometimes you have to take on challenges that you feel unprepared for. But with hard work, dedication, and a willingness to learn, you can rise to the occasion and succeed.

--

--