The unexpected effect of compliments

How do you feel when someone notices you for what you love?

Laila Zouaki
Success in Failure
3 min readNov 23, 2020

--

This story was first published on my website.

How do you feel when someone says they love this scarf you adore and found in a little store during your favorite vacation?

How about when someone notices all the care you put in your craft?

When it’s genuine, it feels damn great.

Little did I imagine that ephemeral compliments can last a lifetime.

Photo by Lina Trochez / Unsplash

I experienced that first hand a couple of times this summer. As I visited my engineering school to pick up my degree, I went to see my student counselor to say hi.

I hadn’t seen her in 4 years. We talked and talked and talked, and at some point she said, with the brightest smile on her face:

You know, I every time I tie my boots, I think of you because I remember you telling me how much you liked them.

Wow. I genuinely didn’t remember either the boots, or saying that. It checked out, because as she described them, I knew I would have liked them and told her so.

Nonetheless, it was not something I vividly recalled. Yet somehow this 4+ year-old compliment had stayed with my counselor this whole time, and my heart filled up as I took in the endeared tone she had used as she shared this.

When New York pays you a compliment, you take it.

Before this even happened, one of my dearest friends pointed out to me:

The amount of compliments you pay others is impressive, I don’t know how you do it.

Again, wow. That was a lovely thing to notice, and I didn’t expect it because it had become a built-in habit I must have nurtured until it became natural. Let me share a meta-moment here: I took this as a compliment from my friend and I sure won’t forget it anytime soon.

When I thought about it again, I realized that I had slowly taken the habit of voicing my delight when someone did, made or had something I liked. And as I experienced it, it’s been a wonderful way to connect with anyone.

The only rules I have are to never pay a compliment that I don’t mean, and do my best to never pay a compliment that could be hurtful, like a backhanded compliment or something that society has widely taken as positive but I disagree with, e.g. praising weight loss. Essentially, making sure that I don’t say something I wouldn’t have liked receiving, and being mindful of boundaries.

Photo by Nynne Schrøder / Unsplash

Compliments cost nothing, and they can mean the world to the person receiving them, as long as they are genuine. They don’t call for a return, there’s no expectation coming out of them.

Your dress looks great on you.

This dish was delicious.

Your restaurant looks incredibly cool.

It was so brave when you spoke up. I found that really inspiring.

That was such a kind gesture when you…

From the lightest to the most elaborate, to our closest friends or to the uttermost strangers, compliments are unattached little gifts of kindness that tell people: I see you, even for a second. I appreciate you for who you are.

Sometimes they brush it off. And sometimes, they are still cherishing that gift, years after welcoming it.

We might never know how much joy a compliment we paid created in someone’s life, so we might as well default to abundantly celebrating others for what they do, and for who they are.

--

--

Laila Zouaki
Success in Failure

29. On a mission to transform migraine care. Co-founder of @melina.