I Love You, Girl

A self-love medicine poem

Barbara Lima
Suddenly Sky Clad
2 min readJan 5, 2022

--

Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

I love all of your pain
And your fears

I love your scars and your skin as they age
Your breasts as they fall
Your falls and getting-ups
Your attempts, all of them
Your failures and successes

I love all of your achievements
I love the love you’ve offered and been given and denied
Your mistakes and the lessons you’ve learned from them

I love your stretch marks and how they look like rays of sun, daughter of light
I love the brittleness of your hair
The golden in your eyes
That smile that illuminates your presence

I love the lack of self-love in your high heels
And your grandness in your flat shoes
I love your love of animals, poetry and fresh water falling on your back

I love your divine spirit and your essence
Your discoveries, your losses and your wanderlust
I love your ever expanding selves
And your higher self

I love your lips and the stories they tell your pen
I love the way your hand slides on thirsty paper
Leaving soul prints as they write memories of past and future

I love your richness and your poorness
Your generosity and your jealousy
I love your abundance fright
Your guilt and your shame

I love your inexhaustible taste for learning
The power of your knowingness in your self-doubt
And how it seals escape tunnels for manifestations

I love your body
How it stretches and contracts your curves
As you navigate calm and troubled waters
Holding temple for resilient questions

I love your magnificent ability to self-heal
And heal others
Your light as you trail-blaze deep perspectives drenched in darkness

I love the sacredness of the spaces you create for your silence
And how they reveal your true origins and destination

I love your love of challenge, of I-can-handle-it-alls
Your inability to recognise self-abuse
While anxiously protecting others from themselves

I love your anxiety and your depression
And how they unlearned their names once they looked in the mirror of themselves

I love your indecisions and the joy you find in certainty
How it paves your ways
Elongating your arms for eternal reach

I love the way you walk towards where you want to be
Ever so elegantly
Ever so flow

I love you on this side
And on the other side

I love you, girl.

©Barbara Lima 2021

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Barbara Lima
Suddenly Sky Clad

A heart regenerator and a healing pen. Poetry and creative nonfiction.