Art Exhibition

Suhaila
Suhaila Creates
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2016

Suhaila Baheyeldin

My artwork is being showcased at the first ever Muslim Women’s Art Exhibition titiled “Defining Identity”, taking place at THEMUSEUM (10 King Street West, Kitchener) from June 1 -June 30, 2016.

Artist Statement

Art for me is the ultimate form of expression. It’s become my sanctuary; a way to escape from the world, and also make sense of it. It’s become a way for me to reconcile my different “identities”. As an Arab, Muslim, Canadian, Woman, Engineer, working in Tech, I often find myself stuck between worlds. Each of these “labels” has been given to me and often come with expectations and ideas imposed on me for who I’m supposed to be. But these ideas are not my own.

Art is a way for me to just be me; free from these labels. So I create to have a conversation with myself. I create to get back in touch with who I am. I create to keep myself alive.

Short Bio

Suhaila is an artist, designer, and engineer. Her love of art has been expressed through her varied interests. She uses art to make sense of the world, and has been a huge influence on her work as a Designer.

Her passion for design was ignited by psychology; how can we better understand human nature, and how can we use that knowledge to solve problems? With her curiosity as fuel, she cultivated a multi-disciplinary background of art, engineering and cognitive science to inform her solutions and guide her exploration.

When she’s not changing the healthcare landscape in Canada, you can find her practicing kung-fu or dipping her brush into watercolour.

Artwork

Below are some pieces I would love to display in the Art Exhibition.

For all the artwork below, I can get prints in various sizes and prices would be between $10-$30. Some originals are for sale, indicated below.

Where in the World?

I constantly feel like I’m stuck between multiple worlds, never fully fitting in anywhere. So where am I from? I’m from everywhere and nowhere.

The original piece is not for sale. Prints are 8'’x10'’ for $20, and bigger for $30 (unsure of exact size).

It’ll be alright

When I’m unsure, I turn back to Allah for guidance and ask that everything is okay in the end. A short plea, a prayer; the only one I need.

The original piece is not for sale. Prints are 8'’x10'’ for $20.

Cosmos

Ever feel small? There’s no better way to get perspective on your existence or problems than to look up at the sky. The vast expanse that is our universe makes everyday things seem trivial and surmountable.

The original piece might be for sale. Prints are 8'’x10'’ for $15.

Aching

Some days I feel like I hold the whole universe inside me; never knowing how to reconcile all the emotions and thoughts that are constantly dissonant.

The original piece might be for sale. Prints are 8'’x10'’ for $20.

--

--

Suhaila
Suhaila Creates

Designer, Artist, Engineer. Creator @kohlstudio + @MuslimsDesign. Previously @Zenreach, @GoDialogue, @Guilded