Advice for (engineering) students

From a fellow survivor

Suhaila
Suhaila Writes

--

You know how this post goes. A friend of mine asked me to give her some advice as part of an assignment for her engineering class. Of course, I agreed.

At first I wasn’t sure I’d have much to say or if any of it would be valuable, having graduated just 6 months ago. But then as I started typing, something clicked. Suddenly the important lessons from the last 5 years of my life became clear. So, to all the young engineers out there, this is for you.

First of all, allow me to congratulate you! You’ve been admitted to an engineering program. You may not realize it, but this is an accomplishment. If your engineering program is anything like mine, then you were one of the few carefully selected students from a large pool of applicants. You stood out, not for your grades, but for your potential. You were chosen because you have it in you to make it through engineering and prosper. When things get tough, remember that someone believed in you enough to give you a chance. Someone rooted for you to succeed. Always remember that.

Now that you’re here, make the most of it. Try new things. Do unexpected things. You’ll be surprised at what you like and don’t like. This is the opportune time for you to explore. You will succeed, and more importantly you will fail. You will learn from those failures. You will grow with each one. You will learn it’s not the end of the world. And you will learn how to pick yourself up and move on. That is one of the most valuable things you will learn. Perseverance. And you will persevere. Because you have no other choice. You will move forward, even when you don’t want to; when it’s easier to quit. But you will keep going. And you will make it through.

Meet new people. Learn from others. Find people who make you feel dumb and sit with them. Be in awe. Nothing will motivate you more to learn. And network. For the sake of your future career, learn to network. A lot of companies (especially small ones) care more about finding people who are smart and will fit into their culture. Meeting people is the best way to show them who you are. They’re likely to take a gamble on you even if you don’t have all the skills/experience they are looking for. It’s also a great way to figure out what to look for in a career.

Work hard, play hard. That was our motto. Engineering is tough. So put in the effort. There is no free pass. No easy button. You have to sit down and work. And when you’re struggling, seek help. And seek help early. Everything accumulates and it will be harder the longer you wait. But take time off as well and have fun. Take the time to relax. Give your mind and body a break. Do other things. Things you enjoy. Especially things that will take your mind off your work. And sleep. It works wonders, believe me!

The most valuable things you will take with you are your experiences and the person you discover you are. You’ll learn how to learn. You’ll learn when to say “good enough”. Your journey will transform you into a new person. And you’ll like the new you. You’ll see yourself do amazing things, and persevere through difficult situations. You’ll be faced with challenges you never dreamed of and will come out the other end. You’ll push your limits, and you might break. You’ll see yourself at your lowest. And you’ll know how to climb back up. You’ll also see yourself at your highest. Through the euphoric sensation when a design project works.

In the end it will all be worth it. You will become stronger and better. You’ll accomplish amazing things, and you’ll go on to do even greater things. You’ll get through engineering. Trust me, it’s not easy. But you will do it. And it will feel amazing. And it should!

So enjoy this journey; I can’t wait to see you on the other side!

About me

My journey has been a pleasantly unpredictable one. In high school I was set on going into science and becoming a doctor. At the very last minute I changed my mind. I chose to study Systems Design Engineering at the University of Waterloo. During my co-op terms I stumbled upon design and realized it was something I enjoyed. I also found I had a passion for psychology, and ended up doing a minor in Cognitive Science. The two ended up being the perfect compliment for my career. I currently work as a User Experience Designer at Kik Interactive.

Have a similar experience? Talk to me @suhailabahey!

--

--

Suhaila
Suhaila Writes

Designer, Artist, Engineer. Creator @kohlstudio + @MuslimsDesign. Previously @Zenreach, @GoDialogue, @Guilded