Creating in times of quarantine

Stuff I created and musings during this time

Sukanya Basu
Take It With A Pinch Of Life
4 min readMay 20, 2020

--

I recently realized that creating is what makes me feel truly alive and happy (apart from travelling of course). Art, good photography, storytelling, writing…just creating.
I was always into art from a very young age. But this realization has hit me only recently, since I’ve been creating a lot more. Maybe that’s why even though I did my engineering, I switched to Product Design as a career.

It’s been exactly 2 months, 2 days, and 15 hours (yes I just calculated) as I write this that I’ve been in lockdown with my family here in Bangalore. The amount of news and information I’ve consumed in this time has pretty much left a lasting impact on my mind. My perspective on so many things has shifted. I’ve felt very sad, extremely happy, intense gratitude for all I have, rushes of adrenaline, moments of overthinking and overanalyzing, and all the other emotions I’m sure all of us privileged ones have felt during this time. It’s been a roller coaster ride in every sense!

Creating, reading, exercising and meditating has always kept me sane (also read good food, sleep and good people) and they’ve been more so in these 2 months, 2 days, and 15 hours. Here are 10 things I “created” during this time — Art, musings, food and photography:

1. A friend suggested this movie — Kumbalangi nights. It’s a Malayalam movie that I watched with subs. It is easily one of the best stories I’ve seen. I felt like visiting the village of Kumbalangi and made this piece 🌴

https://www.instagram.com/p/B-l4W5EjoRt/

2. Reminiscing has always been like a brother to me. I was going through my old travel pictures and saw that some of them needed color correction. I’d been learning Lightroom for a while. Judge for yourself 📸:
Check out my other travel stories.

3. The photo may look good but it tasted pretty bad 🙃 (hey it’s about creating and creating, perfection will follow suit someday)

les pâtes

4. I’m a sucker for good quotes. So I had to make a piece for this nice quote I read.

Quarantine your body, not your mind!

5. Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? SpongeBob SquarePants! 😃

The Pineapple looks like such a complex fruit man

6. I made some tiny landscape art. Could be turned into fridge magnets someday 🤷🏻‍♀️

Really felt like camping under a sky full of stars

7. Saw the sunset from my balcony every single day. On this particular day though, I was in love 💛

Coldplay and strawberry skies

8. My brother Reminiscing returns with a shot I took in Sri Lanka on New Year's Eve. Filled with high hopes for 2020. Aah good times.

Trying to get that perfect shot above all the chaos

9. Jazzed up my room 🤘

Blue pill, Red pill

10. Most recent piece. I had a strong urge to camp under the milky way, count the shooting stars and have 2AM conversations 💫

Could be cover art for some lo-fi music album

Parting thoughts

Too many of us are too privileged and living comfortable lives during this time. I’m one of them. I have consistently been donating to good (and legit) causes to help the less fortunate. If your circumstances allow, I request you, to please do the same. Every small move counts. Stay safe amigos and here are some chill beats to quarantine to.

I shall now get back to creating, and leave you with a parting quote:

To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong. ~ Joseph Chilton Pearce, American author

I’d deeply appreciate any feedback or criticism about both my writing and what I have to say. See more of my work: Design, Writing, Photography. Have a brilliant day 🖖

--

--

Sukanya Basu
Take It With A Pinch Of Life

Product Designer @Groww | Artist | Traveller | Amateur philosopher and writer