Emailed two people from our exercise in class. Received one response :)

Emails, Articles, Moving

Plus a lot of screenshots

Korina Wray
3 min readJul 29, 2019

--

So let me start off by saying this week I feel a little behind. (I’ve been moving all week) I meant to create 2 sessions of 10 images on letter-sized paper and have not done that yet. I have been primarily emailing people to interview or collaborate. I am currently arranging a meeting with Lindsey Gauggel.

Additionally, I visited the library and found a magazine that had a lovely size. It fit really well in my hand. However, I think it might be a little large for how people will be using the book. I think a small handheld size might be best for convenience, but I also like the idea of having a size that conveys a sense of unabashedness.

My next step will be to NARROW DOWN my actual written content. This premise has been really daunting for me, I’ve had a lot of trouble starting. I love reading though so I don’t know why it’s been so hard for me to start. Below are some interesting online things I’ve read throughout last week.

I did email killerandasweetthang. No response. I did, however, receive a lovely email from Audrey Law with a lot of advice.

I feel like, realistically, this book will be for secular people. I would love love LOVE to reach a more religious audience because I feel like those people need this information the most. Sex-negative beliefs are so tied up in Catholic and Christian ideology. I would love to alleviate the shame that these groups of people often feel when talking about sex or even thinking about sex. I believe there’s a world where you can stay true to your spiritual beliefs while having healthy and open conversations about sex.

When I was younger I used to read books written by a Christian writer named Justin Lookadoo. I liked them because they paid unique attention to design–which is something I had not previously seen before. The books have handwritten callouts and scribbled notes. It wasn’t just a plain book with no imagery. It felt more accessible. But now that I’m older and I’m able to see past the design of the book and see how dangerous the messages are. Many of his books are for a tween audience, and the messages are misogynistic in nature.

Excerpts from Justin Lookadoo’s Book

I want my book to be easy and fun and make people question their preconceived notions of what sex positivity entails. I want them to confront their hidden biases and internalized gender roles. But this is hard if the book isn’t in a Christian store. I’ve been thinking about studying mom Facebook groups to see how information gets spread (thinking about how misinformation has spread amongst anti-vaxxers), but I have other work I need to do first.

Good Podcast on Misinformation and Technology

--

--

Korina Wray

A Filipina-American graphic communication designer. I hope to use design as a means for creating social change and furthering access to education.