Stranger Things 3, Minimum Viable Product + other Updates

Korina Wray
Summer Capstone 2019
4 min readJul 17, 2019

Time to finally start making things… but I have been emailing and meeting people instead.

Cryptogram Meeting

Cryptogram Visit :)

I met with Jon from Cryptogram this weekend to discuss printing options! We talked about using a soft buttery paper for the cover of the book, to make it approachable. It was also nice seeing examples of potential past printing techniques. I have been teetering back and forth between expensive and economy priced materials. Obviously, I should be printing things with the intent to make them cost efficient because of my user, but what if the communication is enhanced by using more premium paper and finishes? This is a first world problem. *smh* The good thing is that I have this framework so when I start designing I can know what questions are being considered and make further decisions. I have a feeling this process is not going to be as linear as I hoped. In the workplace, it goes something like plan → ideate → create brand guidelines → implement. But I’m foreseeing that I will have to go back and forth between those stages in the design process frequently to ensure I’m not pigeonholing myself into something that doesn't make sense.

Minimum Viable Product

I am also taking an entrepreneur class and have been considering pitching this book as my “product” for the class. I’m starting to lean away from that though. The class focuses on profit, and that’s never been my goal with this project. However, I did learn about something called a “Minimum Viable Product” which is an extremely pared down version of the final product. It tests the structure and overall message of the final product to make sure it works as a concept. This was interesting to learn about in a business context because we had learned this concept in our interaction class already. It’s called wireframing and user testing in the design world.

Minimum Viable Product

It’s good to have that reminder that I will eventually have to find millennials with kids to test this book on. I don’t know any right now so that will be a challenge.

Class Activites

These were the activities we did in class this past week. I want to narrow my core values of this book’s purpose down even further but I know that my goals are to create:

  1. Competence
  2. Connection
  3. Open-mindedness
  4. Acceptance
  5. Safety

Stranger Things 3

SPOILER ALERT DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT FINISHED SEASON 3 OF STRANGER THINGS.

I Cried During This Scene

Okay, so if you have seen season 3 then you can read this. There was a part in the series that reminded me of my capstone. In this scene, Eleven is reading a letter that Hopper wrote to her about growing up and his concern about her closing the door when she is making out with her boyfriend. Eleven has just started her teenage years. Here is the letter if you want to skim it.

There’s something I’ve been wanting to talk to you both about. I know this is a difficult conversation, but I care about you both very much. And I know that you care about each other very much, and that’s why it’s important that we set these boundaries moving forward so we can build an environment where we all feel comfortable, trusted, and open to sharing our feelings.

Feelings.

Feelings.

Jesus. The truth is, for so long I’d forgotten what those even were. I’ve been stuck in one place. In a cave, you might say. A deep, dark cave. And then I left some Eggos out in the woods and you came into my life. For the first time in a long time, I started to feel things again. I started to feel happy. But lately, I guess I’ve been feeling distant from you. Like you’re pulling away from me or something. I miss playing board games every night, making triple decker Eggo extravaganzas at sunrise, watching Westerns together before we doze off.

But I know you’re getting older, growing, changing. I guess, if I’m being really honest, that’s what scares me. I don’t want things to change. So I think maybe that’s why I came in here, to try and make stop that change. To turn back the clock. To make things go back to how they were. But I know that’s naive. It’s just not how life works. It’s moving, always moving, whether you like it or not. And yeah, sometimes it’s painful. Sometimes it’s sad. And sometimes, it’s surprising. Happy.

So you know what? Keep on growing up kid. Don’t let me stop you. Make mistakes, learn from ’em. When life hurts you, because it will, remember the hurt. The hurt is good. It means you’re out of that cave. But, please, if you don’t mind, for the sake of your poor old dad, keep the door open three inches.

How relevant is that! I know that Stranger Things is a fiction show but it is true that growing up is hard — hard for the parents as much as it is for the kids. I’m hoping my future book could help people have conversations like this without it being so uncomfortable.

--

--

Korina Wray
Summer Capstone 2019

A Filipina-American graphic communication designer. I hope to use design as a means for creating social change and furthering access to education.