Summester Outputs

Bella Berger
Summer Capstone 2019
3 min readJul 8, 2019

A LOT needs to get done around here before 2020… and I’m not talking about the election.

Only one way to stay afloat

Good news: there’s EXACTLY six weeks left in the semester and I have exactly six deliverables I want to accomplish before the semester ends. To review, these are the outputs I determined in my Project Brief:

Summer Deliverables

  • Script
  • Visual System
  • Storyboards
  • Style Frames
  • Animatic
  • Voiceover Tests

Week 9 + 10: Script

The script of my capstone is really what drives the message behind it. Audio is just as important as the animation when it comes to a motion project. My script will be pieced together from the Designer’s Code of Ethics and different quotes from Ruined by Design. Best case scenario, I persuade Mike Monteiro to read and record the script for me. After all, no one can say it better than the man who wrote it.

Week 9 + 10: Visual System

Before I will know the final format of my artifact, I need to design the visual system. This system will determine what the assets look like, the software I will use and type of animation. I have two different directions but I’m leaning towards combining them.

Style 1: paper / collage / lithograph / stop motion (?)

Style 2: hand drawn / Procreate / animated keyframes

My final artifact will be visualizing the ten ethics Mike names in his book. To generate ideas I am going to collage with paper, magazines, books and other recycled textures.

Physical models

Material and construction investigations

Week 11 + 12: Storyboards

Storyboarding is most successfully done with the absence of color. It allows the designer to focus on the shot type, sequence and overall composition of the frame. Before storyboarding can begin, I need to create the script which will helps me decide each scene.

Week 11 + 12: Style Frames

These style frames will be created by combining the visual system and storyboards.

Week 13: Animatic

This is an extra (not required) step in the motion design process. It consists of expanding your storyboard frames and animating them together, so you can accurately see how the scenes look within the time. You also add in music and sound effects to see how they fit. This will be one of the last steps of this semester.

Week 13: Voiceover Tests

If Mike doesn’t want to record my script for me, I will have to outsource to Voice123 or maybe CCM. After seeing capstone examples, I’ve come to the conclusion that the strongest ones utilize professional, clean audio recordings.

To stay on track I’ll have to finish one step per week and constantly revise as I go, all while simultaneously reading the book. Whew. Sounds like a lot but not drowning in it yet since I’m invested in the topic. Anything leftover will carry over into the fall semester and I’ll complete in San Francisco with Mike Monteiro’s guidance.

--

--