That’s a Wrap

Maria Fisher
Summer Capstone 2019
2 min readJan 8, 2020

Well, for this semester at least…

As the semester comes to a close, I have time to reflect upon what I have accomplished this semester. But the main thing that I am very happy with is that I chose a direction, I’m happy with that direction, and I’m excited about pursuing that direction. I know that I won’t suffer from subject burn out from this project which is very important to me. That was one of my main worries for Capstone from the very beginning.

I’m sad that I wasn’t able to see everyone’s process books so far. I really would’ve like to see where everyone was at this point. I mean, these projects are truly who each and every one of us are and something that really reflects what we want to do in life. It’s almost like a visual representation of all of our personalities. So maybe I can ask people to send their stuff or get access to the box folder? It would be nice to see everyones hard work.

So going into the co-op semester, I’m excited to keep the ball rolling. I’m happy that I won’t have other homework pulling for my attention and I’m looking forward to taking some motion design school classes. I feel that I am really going to enjoy working on this project through the end. I’ve liked having a schedule for myself as I go through the semester so I think I’m going to make another one for the Fall semester as well. It keeps me on track and I definitely need to be kept on track sometimes. So this schedule will include continuing sketching out thumbnails and moving forward to storyboards as well as technical experiments in after affects.

I’ve really loved this class and the way we approached it. From the Pecha Kucha, to the improv games, to the group discussions. I think taking us out of the DAAP atmosphere now and then really encouraged and inspired us to think outside the box. I came into this semester having no idea what to do for my capstone. People in our year have been thinking about and ideating for years about this project and as hard as I tried I could not do that. But the way DJ helped us through figuring out what truly mattered to us all, I was able to come up with a project I am very excited about. Thank you so much DJ and I hope to get you again for next school semester!

--

--