Week 5?

Sivan Dayan
Summer Capstone 2019
2 min readJun 13, 2019

This semester is going way too fast. We’re over a third of the way through our summer. Portfolios go out to employers next Tuesday. I’m still not feeling overwhelmed by any projects yet, which is nice, but I constantly feel like I’m forgetting something.

This might be a little too personal, but I recently found out a symptom of depression is memory impairment, and I’ve realized it’s harder for me to remember details of things and when and what things are due than most people. Sometimes I forget if I’ve taken my daily medicine less than an hour after taking it, even though I logically know that I have, I can’t recall actually doing it. It’s affecting my work in other classes, and I’m not sure what to do about it. I’m worried that this will affect my ability to work on my capstone, especially over the co op semester. Having no deadlines is usually a problem for me. I end up procrastinating until the last minute, and, even though my ideas might be great, my execution can sometimes be found lacking because it’s rushed and I didn’t care in the end.

I really want this project to be amazing, I want to potentially make it a thing that I can sell to people after I graduate. I want my family to be proud of me. I want to be proud of it myself. Kate brought up a great point in class. We’ve changed topics so many times, what if we lose interest in the one we’ve chosen before long? I’m passionate about this project now, but what if, in a few months or next year, I forget why I was so passionate about it?

I don’t know the answers to any of these questions, but I guess in the next year, I’ll find out.

--

--