Capstone Variables for Primary Research

Aleah Oxley
Summer Capstone 2021 — Section 2
3 min readJul 6, 2021

As suggested to use the variable defining table to note the variable I’m seeking, and the component, what it measures, and the method for the variable, I was confused as to what exactly what my variables are when returning to the table after completing more research. I know the point is for specifically defining research methods for primary research still needed, also helping to define the process in how I will collect that variable of research.

These are the tables I ended up creating:

The Abortion Ban Affects on Women variable I started with is supposed to be an inside look as to how these women are affected. My goal would be to collect around 3 different stories in how the abortion bans impacted them. I would like to include perspectives of women who go through abortion vs those who choose adoption/to keep, but in exploration as to WHY they made their decision. From what they say, I would like to pair with factual based research to link statistics, quotes, and high impact points on the problems women face with abortion.

As for the How Unwanted, Born Children Are Affected variable, I’m wanting to collect testimonies on how the unwanted children are affected in the world. These experiences can range, but ideally, I gain perspective from those who were either never adopted (could still be in adoption center or a grown adult now out of the system) and those who were adopted (perhaps an adult though) and how they feel about the results of being an unwanted child. Although I feel insight can come from children that are adopted, I feel an adult who had been adopted can share a fuller response to explain their pain they faced within their youth. I would like to pair my results with statistics of adoption centers/foster centers, and make the connection that adoption centers shouldn’t be filled with kids that could have been prevented.

My goal: to share stories on personal experiences facing abortion bans, while bringing statistics and cold, hard facts to cement the importance in knowing how many people are affected by abortion bans.

My concerns: collecting enough primary research, weaving the amount of primary research with stats to where it works cohesively (aka no outliers to my points i’m making), what my visuals would be and how if these are simply interviews; Do I need primary research for photographs or media used? Where and how do I collect personal imagery of these people I talk to ? What if the people I talk to (say the majority) are not interested in sharing their story, images, photos of themselves, having videos/photos taken of them for a project? Is it possible (is it ethically right?) to use imagery of different people than the stories I collect maybe? What imagery can I use/should I use to make my project stronger? How do I tie stats into imagery I am not certain of yet to use? How do I show impact on abortion ban; should I have a comparison (and how could I show the comparison…) of livelihood of women being better without abortion ban than with abortion bans in place…

I’m starting to get overwhelmed. There are so many factors I would like to speak about on my project. I feel like these additional factors are important to understanding the magnitude of the importance in abortions. However, I feel like I was forced to whittle my project down to a statement that doesn’t encompass all of these cold facts people should know. I almost want to create a mini-docuseries in a poster format…but that also does not seem realistic.

I feel like I need find a way to make my scope fit all of these important things that are involved instead of decreasing the scope to narrow in on one aspect of a large problem with multiple moving parts that work against it. I need help again “narrowing down” on my project while including “everything that is important”.

--

--