Design Methodology Entry 9

Allison Miller
Summer Capstone 2021 — Section 2
2 min readJul 13, 2021

A Reflection on the Process So Far

Clouds to represent summer ☀️

I will take this entry to reflect on how I am feeling about the capstone process so far. I would say I am definitely a little bit overwhelmed. This is not just because of this class, but I think that this summer is the most work heavy semester we have had. My “thorn” in that regard is the amount I have been working. I haven’t gotten outside and enjoying summer as much as I would like, because I have been doing so much homework. However, even though it is a lot, I genuinely do feel proud of and excited about all of the classes I am in this semester and the work I have gotten to do in them. Hopefully over the last several weeks I will be able to manage that work life balance a little bit more.

The “rose” that I do have for the capstone project is that while I do feel like I still have a lot to do primary research wise, I am excited about the direction that my project is going. I feel a lot more focused than I was a few weeks ago and am feeling more excited about the potential of what my final deliverable can be. I am happy that I picked a park space, because that does help my in regards to my previous stated “thorn.” Getting to observe a park space is nice. I need to go back out to the park and take photos and do more observation in the coming weeks, but it has been good so far.

My “bud” for this process is similar in that I am feeling excited about the potential of the project. I enjoyed the round robin meetings last week and was suggested some really great ideas that I do want to explore more in the design phase of the project. I do not think I am quite yet ready to make those types of decisions, but I have been thinking about how I will be able to make this project fun and interactive for younger visitors. I am eager to make it something creative and youthful and am looking forward to how I can achieve that in an interactive way.

Overall, I am feeling good about everything. I think things have been a little bit slow to develop, but I am becoming more invested and eager to continue exploring this project space.

--

--