Design Methodology Reflection 12

Kelsey Willmes
Summer Capstone 2021 — Section 2
2 min readAug 4, 2021

Form Making

This week, I continued form making and conducted several surveys based on my visuals. I will be sharing my form making visuals in this post.

Typographic Studies

I explored several different typefaces to get a feel for what text style I wanted to include in my book. I know I want to use unique typefaces and use type as a way to tell a story on its own. It was a fun challenge pairing different typefaces together to see what typefaces complemented each other and looked visually appealing together. I believe the typefaces above will all be good options for my book moving forward.

Color Studies

Here are several different color palettes I created. In the survey I conducted, the top right was the preffered color palette. The bottom left was the preferred neutral color palette. I used these surveys to inform the moodboards I created.

Moodboard Options

I created two moodboards as potentials styles to inform the design of my book. The one on the left is feminine and soft and the one on the right is inspired by textiles and patterns and more warm and rustic. I conducted a survey to see which aesthetic people preferred and it was close, but the more feminine, softer aesthetic was the favorite.

Moodboard Option 1 Layout Studies
Moodboard Option 2 Layout Studies

These were a few layout studies I created based on each moodboard. I included the typefaces from my type studies to see how they would look in context.

--

--