The End Times

Cindy Ha
Summer Capstone 2021 — Section 2
2 min readJul 30, 2021
Slide depicting sketches for my game’s world from my final presentation

It’s nearly the end of the summer semester, which means that I am half-way through my senior classes. It also means that I’ll have to finish up all my finals while packing to move out and then fly home. I manage to do this pretty much every semester, but it always feels overwhelming in the middle of it. That said, I did just finish up my final visual presentation for my capstone, so that is at least sorted out.

The sketches above are just preliminary thoughts about what the three rooms could look like. I do find it funny that I entertained the idea of doing Buddhist hell as a capstone earlier on, and ended up incorporating a kind of hell in a completely unrelated topic anyway. From left to right the sketches represent a “bad” world, a “good” world, and a “meh” world for the future of NFTs. I haven’t fully worked out the details of each world, but generally the worlds would differ in how the inhabitants chose to develop the NFT markets and the technology itself. Furthermore, the worlds would differ in who out of the characters the player talks to is benefitting the most from the status quo.

A note on the color scheme: this is an early decision, but I do want to make the main palette of the game in tones of blue. It would honor my inspiration from the Blue Period manga, and nods to blue being, traditionally, one of the rarest and expensive pigments to procure. Because of that, blue as a color has a special place in art history, so I think it would be neat to tie it strongly to my game.

--

--