Weekly Medium Entry 4

Sophia Schultz
Summer Capstone 2021 — Section 2
2 min readJun 4, 2021

In response to some of the feedback I’ve gotten so far on my faculty brief, I’ve been reflecting on how I can tighten up my topic space. I think I’ve been a little afraid to go too narrow, but I understand that currently I might be trying to bite off more than I can chew. I really appreciated D.J’s feedback that I can hit on small bits of all three components to my original topic (harmful misconceptions, history of dogs, and proper care), but that there should be a distinct focus.

I like the idea of narrowing my topic down to one breed specifically and then branching from that into the message that a “bad” or “good” dog can come from any breed. I’ve acknowledged that my audience is older adults looking to adopt who just might not be very open-minded about their options. I think focusing on a breed that is often overlooked for adoption could help narrow that target even further. I think pit-bulls/pit-mixes are a great option, but I’ll probably do some research first into other dogs who might be commonly avoided and consider my choices from there.

I’m starting to get really excited for this project, but I’ll admit that this stage of the game is what I struggle with. I understand that I really need to whittle my topic to its core, but part of me still doesn’t want to get rid of any of the possibilities of what I could do. I know that is unreasonable so I’ll be taking some time this weekend to consider what I want the central takeaway from my capstone to be.

--

--