Living Outside the Border

yessenia corona
Titan Features
Published in
5 min readDec 8, 2016
Baja Call Center

Tightening up his Calvin Klein tie over his freshly pressed blue collar shirt straight from the cleaners, SKOFE grabs his 100% hand made leather belt he bought at El Mercado Hidalgo in the Sona Rio de Tijuana. As he drives to work in his 1999 white Explorer he takes a couple minutes to prep his voice for a speech he is about present in front of 30 people at a Corporate Call Center in Tijuana, Mexico.

From painting in the streets of Los Angeles to now working as a manager at a Corporate office in Tijuana. Meet SKOFE, 28 a legendary internationally known graffiti artist. Due to privacy concerns, SKOFE has gone through an impeccable journey that has only given him strength and compassion in life.
Living by the paint can take you places. Such as the famous Retna whose graffiti skills were captured in various magazine covers such as the urban trendy JUXTAPOZ magazine and Justin Bieber’s 2015 album cover, Purpose. Or the wheatpaste artist Shephard Fairey, whose skills have got him to have the most internationally renowned urban clothing line called OBEY. As well as a chance to support and design President Barack Obama’s famous campaign slogan, Change, during the 2008 presidential campaign.

However here is SKOFE, a talented artist and deportee. According to Nearshore America’s Newsletter by Duncan Tucker, about 60% of Call Center Services International (CCSI) are all deportees.

“We use the element of Corporate Social Responsibility to help individuals that can speak well English and Spanish and have the knowledge of both Mexico and U.S. culture,” said CCSI President Eric Esparza in Tijuana, Mexico.

So why the name SKOFE? The main reason is the letter structure of the S and K when he paints. He has also been from two crews BOS, “Beyond Other Styles” and NBC, “Nothing But Chaos, BOS since 99, and NBC since 2004–2005.

SKOFE is from Michoacan, Mexico, but was raised in Los Angeles before being deported. Even though he has his 9–5 job, he continues with his passion in graffiti. One of the difficulties he encounters while doing illegal graffiti in Mexico are the cops.

“A lot of people have to learn how to deal with others. You just have to learn how to analyze every spot,” said SKOFE.

The danger is a lot different in Mexico than it is in Los Angeles if you get caught. People in Mexico have guns and are not afraid to use them. Especially when entering private property.

“In Los Angeles, you do more jail time and over here you just pay the cops off, said Skofe. You have more jail time in Los Angeles, where you actually have to go to court and have probation and right here you don’t have to deal with any of that. Either if they catch you and you don’t pay them then you go to jail for a couple of months, but you won’t be on probation or nothing like that. Also, There is the part when the cops don’t like you and will beat you up for graffiti.”

SKOFE has painted all around Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Tijuana, Rosarito, Ensenada and Mexico City. He recently painted on a Riverbed and faced many challenges such as the size, running out of rollers, aching in his knees, neck problems and blisters in the bottom of his feet. However, to him, it is all worth it.

Growing up, SKOFE was inspired really young around his neighborhood from a graffiti artist named TECHMO 74.

“He was literally the next block from me and I used to hang out with his little brother, said SKOFE. This guy was up everywhere the main boulevards and all throughout the neighborhood. I loved his style. He was also from BOS and I was, like wow that’s cool, I told myself one of these days I’m going to be from that crew and I’m going to be dope like this guy. So as I’m hanging out with his little brother I started writing MEEKS. I would use shoe polish and rock on windows, acrylics on the ground with streakers and use anything I could get a hold of. He was my motivation I look up to him, but he passed away in 2003, but I’m happy I got to paint with him that’s my motivation. I started doing graffiti because of him.”

What SKOFE really enjoys about graffiti is the illegal part of it.

“Illegal is really what I like the best. When I first started doing graffiti that’s all that I would do was illegal graffiti. I wasn’t into painting when I was young. Then I started with the letters. So then people started telling me that I should do this more often and start getting paid for it. I was against it, but then I thought ugh why not. I am more of a letter structure guy, but illegal is the best at night. The smell of the fresh air and the sound of the cars riding the highways and dogs barking that is the best feeling when you are out there. It also releases my stress. My job is office work, so I deal with a lot of stress. Every day I have to deal with clients and at the end of the day, I have a headache. But that right there relaxes me and I forget about everything. I just engage myself and concentrate so deep I get to a whole different level. It’s a crazy feeling that’s why I love it, said SKOFE.

Isaias Crow X SKOFE

While SKOFE is thinking of the next wall to paint at night. In the office he gives his speech to prep 30 employees for another successful day, bringing in great attitude and a positive environment at the workforce.

--

--