Summit Keycaps Story

Pat Dayton
Summit Keycaps
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2021

Hey! I’m Pat.

I’m a software engineer currently living in Dallas, Texas with a love for mountains. When I started my first software job I noticed that almost all the developers had these clackity mechanical keyboards and some really sweet keycaps. I soon found myself with a nice keyboard and a handful of sweet caps…woo peer pressure!

Pat at Mt. Rainier in 2017
Pat, Mt. Rainier, 2017

During the COVID-19 pandemic, I picked up keycap crafting as a hobby and got some tutelage from my buddy at Mohawk Caps (check his stuff out, it’s sick).

Mt. Rainier Keycap
Mt. Rainier in a cap, 2020

Hiking and mountaineering have been my escape from crazy city life for years, and I wanted to bring my love of the outdoors to my caps by encapsulating what I believe to be the most beautiful and iconic mountains in the world.

Group of Matterhorn keycap inners
The Matterhorn during painting.

Summit Keycaps are unique in that each mountain cap is from a 3D print of the topology of the mountain. These models are then hand painted and encapsulated in clear resin.

I hope they bring a bit of the mountains to your workspace!

Summit Keycaps Logo

--

--