Gender Balancing your Office Book Shelf

A list of business resources from women and non-binary authors

Erin Joan Lamberty
Summit Plus
3 min readMar 10, 2020

--

Last week, my colleague and I gave five books to a new client as part of an ‘innovation library starter kit’. In an embarrassing moment of hindsight, I realized that these five books are written by white men. In fact, many of the books that my team and I (currently) keep on our office shelf and the articles we reference on Slack are overwhelmingly dominated by male and white voices. Cringe. Oy. Uffda. 🤦‍♀️

But this problem extends well beyond our office. According to my desk research today, up to two-thirds of business books are written by men and women’s books are priced around 45% lower (the publishing industry’s overall diversity stats are an indicator of this outcome). And in order to get our library to a more equitable state, I need to do better. We need to do better. As leaders, it’s our responsibility to be curating and amplifying a diverse set of voices, ideas, experiences, and opinions. Not just in meetings or projects, but in the resources our teams turn to for inspiration and guidance.

So, I dropped a note to some of my well-read friends to get their help starting a list of books by not men, and we’ve got a good one going! Join me in righting this imbalance: please drop other recommendations into the comments, and I’ll make this a never-ending reading list to complement the other books that are coming out from men in the business world.

Business / innovation / leadership / design books authored by women and non-binary authors (in no particular order):

--

--