Sundar Pillai
SundarPillai
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2020

--

About My 11 year of software testing career work..

Started my career in Cognizant Academy..Worked as an Instructional designer for software testing requirements..After initial training months I worked on creating testing courses for Manual and automation testing..After an year in academy, I was selected in Manufactoring and logistics unit where i worked as a QA Engineer..I got an amazing team to work,,I got few of my batch-mates working with me in the same unit that was really fun to work..Back in 2011 it was..I used to test apps in iOS and android devices. It was such a proud moment for me to get surrounded by those devices at my desk:) First time it was..I worked with the same unit for almost 4 years but switched to different application testing though..I learned different testing technologies like automation, webservices testing, database testing at that time.Had to complete few domain certifications too that was helpful improving my knowledge..Though learning felt difficult after college somehow did it!!!That was a success..:)

I moved to kochi location after 5 years in chennai..Kochi is near to my native place..So I moved for a change..Initial 3 months was a struggle as i had to adapt food and climate. After that..Kochi was the best place i have worked till now..I love all the places in kochi especially Fort Kochi, I can sit and watch the fort kochi beach whole day:)

Coming back to work!!I have gained good knowledge in automation using selenium with java from chennai, so I got into new project with that knowledge and started automation using selenium..The team initially had a Data driven framework to work with, So i had to create scripts for new modules, configure test data in excel and execute scripts..The framework was using page object model techniques, using poi library..The application uses dynamic id’s.So i had to use different locator strategy like parent-child traversal etc..We had TestNG annotations as well for prioritising and differentiating test suites..Now i have 5 years of experience and Im in kochi..:)

During weekends i started exploring Ernakulam, Idukki, allapuzha etc..along with my friends..I am long distance runner too so i like trekking, long run..I got many friends during running ..Flying feet was my office running club name..I am an athlete from college where i have played volleyball for university team and under-16 state team..In kochi i learned badminton too mostly on weekends..Im not married yet so im free to go:)

The project I was working was migrating to angular JS platform, So few modules where migrated to angular js. Since selenium dont support few locators like by.model, by.binding etc i used protractor for automation..At that time protractor was gaining popularity.So i had many helpful articles for clarifications..I worked in protractor for almost 1 year in the kochi project..This was also a page object model framework which has a config file to mention browsers, test reports, test suites, test data, OnPrepare,Oncomplete functions etc..We where using allure test reporting as it had good test result template..We have a package.json file where all the dependency for the project is configured..After test run we commit the changes to our git repo..we had configured nightly builds using jenkins..This runs in headless mode in a remote machine..Using docker containers we had setup this remote machine for nightly execution of scripts..That was a long story..Hope you are not much bored reading my story..:)

To conclude,,,Being in a challenging industry is good for our career but take care of your health and lovable family..Stay fit Stay healthy..!!!

--

--