25 going on 17

lisa guo
studio92
Published in
2 min readJan 23, 2018

I suppose it’s in fashion

to write with many breaks

like poetry but not quite

cheating, i’d say

but with modern elegance

maybe it’s only right for me

to reflect on my year in this disjunct manner

because that’s how i really feel about it

disjunct

I’m glad 2017 showed the world

that it was cool to care

about each other

and about things larger than ourselves

collectively we wrote

we marched

we angered

over the reality of this political climate

and we found ourselves suddenly aware

that the ice is melting

the coral is dying

the men are killing

but with it we are rising

I’m glad 2017 showed my friends

that friendship is not easy

and cheesy

as it may be

it’s totally cool to care

I’m glad 2017 showed me

that the cheeky confidence i bear

is imperceptibly made of hard work

and that hard work is okay

it’s kind of the only way

I’m sad 2017 showed the world

that civil blood made civil hands unclean

as if the world hasn’t changed

since 1597

420 years later

all we have to show for it is legalized 420

I’m sad 2017 showed my friends

that growing up is hard

and up and apart are sometimes the same thing

so that only makes it harder

I’m sad 2017 showed me

that for all the love i give

one cannot change the will of the universe

in time it will be a blessing not a curse

For all the high highs

and the low lows

I can only shrug

when the wind beckons

“isn’t this what you wanted?”

So in 2018 as I muster all the patience I can

I plant my feet solid on the ground

Face up to the ocean breeze

and say

yes,

this is what I wanted.

--

--

lisa guo
studio92
Editor for

product designer @getsensibill / according to lisa / in reflection, drawing with words about things and people that I like.