Obedient

A poem

Brenda Orozco
“Sundays” Journal
1 min readJul 13, 2020

--

How obedient I have become

Listening to your every word & doing as you say

Forgetting I have power too
I can also say how things go

I have a say
I have power

But I’m just a woman living in a man’s world

Yes, I’m today’s world we are loved & appreciated
But for our bodies
We are loved if we are big or small
Big ass or none
But where we are meant to have power
We do not
We are challenged and second guessed 3x more than a man who carries less knowledge than us

I have cried
I am crying

I’ve become obedient without knowing it
I assumed the best in you and was tricked

I’m a woman living in a man’s world and I am crying

I have no shame
I will not hide
I will show you my tears
I will show you what you have done
I will not stop speaking up

I’m a woman living in a man’s world and I am showing my tears
I am showing you my pain

I am exhausted

Being a woman, living in a man’s world

--

--