Free Will is a Myth

There’s no such thing as “free will” when you feel guilty about making the “wrong” decision.

Raena McQueen
sungoddessrae3
3 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

@raenamuseum

I grew up in a Christian household; both sides of my family have strong ties to church and it was an ingrained part of my upbringing.

If there was anything I learned, it’s that God is in control of everything…

But He also gifted us with “free will…”

But He will also “wreck your plans when He sees your plans are about to ruin you…”

[Jeremiah 29:11]

Dare I ask:

If we really have free will, why is divine intervention a thing?

I don’t believe in free will. I believe our will is free with conditions. How come no one ever questions this? The fact that if we had free will, we should be able to do whatever we want… ? And in a sense, we can. But y’all don’t think it’s a little coincidental that a lot of our efforts toward what we want to do get thwarted? Y’all don’t think it’s funny how we always seem to get re-directed by the will of God?

And if free will really exists, what’s the deal with intuition? Why do we need intuition if we can really do whatever we want? I’m not saying there won’t be consequences either way, but if we have free will, there’s no such thing as a wrong decision, right?

WRONG. Because when we make certain choices, we end up having this sinking feeling. Why? Because it contradicts the will of God!

See, this goes back to my original lesson: God is in control.

There’s nothing we can do or can’t do without His permission. If He orders our every step, intervenes in our mortal affairs, and “punishes” us for making adverse decisions, we don’t have a will to do anything.

The only time our will works is when it aligns with the will of God.

I’ve spent almost three decades in this realm, so I think I’ve experienced enough to arrive at this conclusion.

And for all intents and purposes, the “will of God” is arbitrary; if you have a relationship with Him, His will for your life will be different from other believers. It’s the reason why all of your friends got away with stealing from the mall, but as soon as you did it, you got caught and banned from shopping there. Being a thief isn’t God’s will for you, but it may be His will for your friends for reasons unknown.

And before y’all start trying to throw the book at me, I’m well aware of the Ten Commandments, but what I’m saying is, sometimes God “allows” sin to teach valuable lessons and grow you as a person. Consider someone who gets dumped after cheating on their partner. Assuming they learned their lesson, they’ll be faithful in their next relationship. You follow?

Anywho…

I think we should stop leaning on free will. There’s no such thing! I’ve seen it time and time again in my life and the lives of others. God already has a pre-destined plan for our lives, and if you go against that plan by any means, you will suffer.

Free will is a myth.

--

--