Image of Jameelah Jones in a wig giving a surprised expression to someone out of frame. The wig is the color of good chocolate. Jameelah is wearing a Tshirt with the Words: Hydrate, Moisturize, Mind your business.

#SunnydaeStories

Jameelah Jones
sunnydaejones

--

I’m a storyteller. In as many forms as I can, I tell stories. This is the section of my publication where I’ll share my poems, short stories, and occasionally, excerpts of research papers I’m writing. I enter my poetry. Occasionally, I enter my poems and short stories into contests . So far I have won the Langston Hughes Creative Writing Award and I’ve been a fellow with the Poetry Incubator, a partnership with the Crescendo Literary and The Poetry Foundation.

NOTE: Writing competitions and research journals usually have a rule for what they call “simultaneous submissions”. It means you cant have work that you've submitted to them, submitted or visible in other places. Translation- Sometimes I will remove a poem, story, or research paper from this page if I decide to submit them somewhere. I won’t do this often, to keep content accessible to you. I’ll place the citation at the bottom of each piece, in case you'd like to cite it in your work. CITE MY WORK IF YOU USE IT.

All accompanying artwork is created by Just Jay Designs unless otherwise noted.

Enjoy my stories. Thanks so much for reading.

Jameelah Jones

--

--

Jameelah Jones
sunnydaejones

I should write a blog about how hard it it to write bio sentences. Social media, social justice, and me. Grad student. She/Her/Hers