Artistic Redundant Subject Pronouns

Suzanne Paschall
Sunrise Pages
Published in
Jan 11, 2022

--

Yes, they can be beautiful…

…and they can be…not. For that rant, visit HERE.

The OED has many examples of redundant subject pronoun use, dating back to Old English.*

Here are a few:

“My sister, shee the jewell is” (from an anonymous Elizabethan play, Common Conditions, 1576).

“ ‘Fair and softly,’ John he cried, / But John he cried in vain” (William Cowper, 1782).

“The worms they crept in, and the worms they crept out” (the novelist Matthew Gregory Lewis, 1795).

“The skipper he stood beside the helm” (Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, 1839).

“My wife she cries on the barrack-gate, my kid in the barrack-yard” (Rudyard Kipling, 1892).

“The times they are a changin’ ” (Bob Dylan, 1964).

*Found on 1/07/22 at Grammarphobia https://www.grammarphobia.com/blog/2015/02/pleonastic.html.

--

--

Suzanne Paschall
Sunrise Pages

I am a screenwriter, non-fiction book author, blogger, songwriter and editor. I am currently completing my first short film, and have a slate of other projects.