CREATOR INTERVIEW

Bringing The Sims 4 to Life One Brush Stroke at a Time

Exploring the artistic journey of Maxis’ Concept Artist Nina Modaffari

SUPERJUMP
Published in
9 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

I still remember sitting behind the family computer in the early 2000s and popping in my scratched CD of The Sims. That quiet joy in losing yourself in different stories and characters has left me with pleasant childhood memories. Even now I can hear the piano chords when you switch to Building Mode. In this world, I could infinitely create (thanks to the Motherlode cheat), embrace my inner interior designer, and remove all the ladders from the pool!

The Sims grew and expanded throughout the years, promising people of all ages the chance to be creative and interact with the community they helped put together. Each time I load up the game, it feels like I’m returning home.

Sims 4 gameplay. Source: GameInfinitus.

I’m that ten-year-old sitting behind that archaic computer once more, where my only worry is matching the wallpaper with the furniture and fretting over that sour conversation that took place with another Sim. The Sims franchise holds a special place in the memories of so many.

--

--

SUPERJUMP

A writer who enjoys analyzing video games. Dungeon Master, teacher, accessibility consultant, & fiction writer.