Celebrating the Sega Sound Team

Almost 20 years later, the Sonic Adventure 2 soundtrack is still incredible

Niamh Kingsley
SUPERJUMP
Published in
7 min readJul 20, 2020

--

Originally launched in 1998 and 2001 respectively, Sonic Adventure and Sonic Adventure 2 are two of the first console games I ever played (admittedly I was about 6 years old when I played them).

Living in Atlanta at the time, my brother and I initially played both games on the Sega Dreamcast before then picking up SA2 on the GameCube. Over the years, I’ve returned to both games many times, through console emulators and more recently Steam.

Sonic Adventure 2 cover art. Source: SEGA.

If you’ve played either of these games (and I hope for your sake you have) you’ll know that overall they have somewhat…aged. From characters talking over other characters, almost comically loud music during some cut-scenes, and absurd character animations, neither game has hidden their age well.

Truly though, these flaws only add to the charm. There is so much joy and nostalgia in these games that I don’t mind the occasional clip out, or that every action in the game is bound to the same button (okay, that still gets me. Seriously, Sega?). This also isn’t just my opinion, as many…

--

--

Niamh Kingsley
SUPERJUMP

Passionate about technology, AI, & neuroscience. You can generally find me @nifereum, @niamhkingsley or connect via https://www.linkedin.com/in/niamhkingsley