Chuck E. Cheese’s Video Game Origins

Originally founded by the creator of Atari: Nolan Bushnell

Ryan Fan
SUPERJUMP

--

“It was my pet project. I started it inside Atari. My objective was to vertically integrate the market. We were selling coin-operated games at about $1,500 or $2,000 a pop.” — Nolan Bushnell, founder of Chuck E. Cheese.

When you think of Chuck E. Cheese, you think of birthday parties, arcades, playgrounds, and crappy pizza. To this day, I have never been to Chuck E. Cheese, perhaps partially because none of my friends had birthday parties there, and also partially maybe because I wasn’t invited. However, what few people think of when they think of Chuck E. Cheese is its history with video games.

Source: Business Insider.

Chuck E. Cheese’s Pizza Time Theater was actually originally founded by the creator of Atari: Nolan Bushnell, who wanted to extend video game arcades beyond adults to family-friendly venues. Bushnell had had previous experience in the video game industry, as well as an idolization of Disney.

“We’re in the fun business,” said Gene N. Landrum, President of Chuck E. Cheese.

--

--

Ryan Fan
SUPERJUMP

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8