Four Techniques for Faster Unity 3D Development

Do more with less code and greater flexibility

Yvens Serpa
SUPERJUMP
Published in
8 min readNov 29, 2020

--

Unity3D has been my favorite tool for game development for quite some time. I have been using it for over 8 years now, be it for professional products, personal endeavors, and as a programming and game designer teacher. Moreover, I have been using Unity for almost all Game Jams I have been to, and it has helped me quickly build up the cornerstones of my jam-games in just a few hours.

As you might know, a Game Jam is a game development contest in which participants try to make a game from scratch over a short period of time. Game Jams usually range from 24 to 72 hours, but others spam over a more extended period, such as the GitHub Game Off that spans over the entire month of November.

After various Game Jams experiences, which even included one with my group's self-made engine in C++(only available in Brazilian Portuguese, unfortunately), I have developed a shortlist of fast prototyping rules that quickly turned into my tenant for software development: build more with less code.

The main idea of using less code (or to put it another way: to keep a smaller code base) is twofold:

  1. The smaller the code, the fewer the opportunities for bugs to sneak in;

--

--

Yvens Serpa
SUPERJUMP

I'm a Brazilian teacher currently working at Saxion University (Enschede, NL) for CMGT. I write every day for education, programming, and as a hobby. [@yvensre]