Getting Lost (by Design) in Hollow Knight

Team Cherry’s bug-filled caper makes you earn your exploration

Abhishek Iyer
SUPERJUMP
Published in
9 min readDec 2, 2018

--

I know I’m late to the Hollow Knight party myself, but if anyone out there still hasn’t played this magical arthropod adventure, do yourself a $14.99 favor and fall into Hallownest — you won’t regret it. And you do fall into it literally and otherwise; over 40 or so hours, as I descended down Hollow Knight’s subterranean realm of rain-soaked cities, cavernous sewers, and verdant gardens, so did my mind sink into perfecting its laser-precise combat system, deciphering its blink-and-miss story moments, and unraveling its interconnected worlds.

The premise of Hollow Knight is simple and light on exposition. You’re a small skull-faced wraith armed with a nail and charged with exploring the decaying, sparsely inhabited kingdom of Hallownest where something has clearly gone wrong. And Team Cherry certainly kept the theme of exploration as a guidepost while designing the game. Here’s Ari Gibson, co-director of Team Cherry in an interview with PC Gamer:

A lot of these decisions we’re making, a lot of the scale and the rooms we build, all of it’s built around this sense of discovery. Exploration and discovery.

In this article, I’ll be looking at how Hollow Knight crafts a navigation system that stays…

--

--

Abhishek Iyer
SUPERJUMP

I write and I don’t know things. Focusing on game design with some general stuff thrown in. For any writing requests, get in touch!