Hey, It’s Okay to Be Excited For a New Generation of Gaming

’Tis the season of new consoles and budding memories (even during a pandemic)

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP
Published in
4 min readNov 12, 2020

--

Every video game generation comes to an end and it’s okay to be excited for another. As I rearranged my consoles yesterday in preparation for my PlayStation 5, I had come to the realization that I’d probably be doing the same thing again in another five to seven years. Despite this, I grow exceedingly more hyped as November 12th comes closer. Xbox fans already have their hands on their newest console, the Xbox Series X, and it’s only a matter of time before PlayStation fans get theirs.

For me, an oncoming generation of gaming is closely tied to fall. The slow approach of a brisk winter cold fills me with thoughts of new games, new consoles, and new memories — maybe that’s why fall and winter are my favorite seasons.

This time around, gamers are eagerly awaiting the release of Microsoft and Sony’s new flagship consoles: The Xbox Series X and the PlayStation 5. “Launch day” is full of memories for everyone, whether it be the long wait for a package to be delivered or the overnight stay at your local electronics store. With COVID-19 causing a quarantine this year, things will most certainly be different for most gamers, but that hasn’t stopped Microsoft and Sony from…

--

--

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP

Journalist writing about video games and the stories they tell | Student at the University of Florida