Hide Your Loneliness Under the Guise of Wrath

What Majora’s Mask teaches us about letting go

Jack Ward
SUPERJUMP
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2020

--

I used to feel like an alien trying to blend in. I could imitate other people and pretend to like the things that they like, but none of these things made sense to me. Even when I tried to adopt “normal” things into my life, I would feel a queasiness in my gut, like I walked through an abandoned door with a sign saying, “do not enter”. I knew that I could always have “friends” if I acted normal, but I would always feel like an outsider.

The world of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask presents a clear distinction between the inside and outside worlds. Despite all of the strangeness in the world, Skull Kid (the main antagonist) still somehow fails to fit in. As an outsider of outsiders, he will only get along with those in the same situation…in this case, the giants. Becoming friends with them grants him temporary freedom from his loneliness, but the giants know that the world does not need them yet. Skull Kid, with his childish mindset, mistakes their wisdom for malice. The giants leave him to conserve their energy, but hatred begins to boil in Skull Kid.

Picking on the faults of others to hide your own

Now a hopeless loner, Skull Kid wallows in his misery outside of Clock Town. He…

--

--

Jack Ward
SUPERJUMP

Certainly a dork ;) Psychology (INFP), bass guitar, video games, and self-development. Follow me on Twitter @AboutThatYak