I Bought a 30+ Year Old Game Cartridge from eBay. Here’s What Happened.

Finding closure with a long-lost childhood classic

Noor Ali-Hasan
SUPERJUMP
Published in
8 min readAug 26, 2020

--

I recently wrote about my Sakhr, an MSX based video game console designed for the Middle Eastern market that my parents bought me when I was about 8 or 9. I also wrote that my favorite MSX game was Penguin Adventure but I sadly no longer had the original cartridge.

For years I longed to play Penguin Adventure on my Sakhr. Every now and then I’d look on eBay for it but wasn’t able to find it. I figured it was too old and too niche of a game for me to ever find a replacement cartridge.

After I wrote my story last week, it felt like something was missing. I was really itching to play Penguin Adventure. What’s the point of getting my Sakhr to work if I can’t actually play my favorite game?

I needed closure.

I decided to look on eBay again to see if I could find it. Much to my surprise, several people were selling Penguin Adventure MSX cartridges! I bit the bullet and bought one from Utah.

I almost immediately regretted making the purchase.

--

--

Noor Ali-Hasan
SUPERJUMP

I’m a UX research lead at Google, where I help teams design and build desirable and easy to use products. Outside of work, I love art, Peloton, and Lego.