RETROSPECTIVE

I Revisited Captain Tsubasa Vol. II 30 Years Later

And it’s still my favorite sports game

Walid AO
SUPERJUMP
Published in
5 min readOct 18, 2020

--

In the ‘80s and early ‘90s, everyone I knew wouldn’t miss a single episode of Captain Tsubasa anime. Adults and children loved the anime. Whenever this anime aired on TV, the playground next to my home was a ghost town.

However, I only learned his real name in 2010 when I accidentally found the anime on a German kid’s TV channel. For me, Captain Tsubasa is, was, and will always be Captain Majid (كابتن ماجد).

If you are not familiar with this anime, it is the story of a Japanese boy with an ambitious dream of winning the FIFA World Cup for Japan. The anime and manga follow 11-year old Tsubasa in elementary school all the way through his football career. He played professionally in Brazil and eventually makes it to the FIFA World Cup.

The Arabic version follows the same story. However, Captain Majid’s dream is to play for the Arab National Team in the FIFA World Cup — a fictional team that does not exist.

Tecmo released a turn-based RPG series for the Japanese market on Famicom in 1990. This videogame defined a unique concept: a sports RPG/Strategy and cinema action game, following a manga and anime series. The games were released in Japanese and…

--

--