It Takes Two Review: Couples Therapy, Gamified

The ups and downs of wedlock with the whims of a wild, cooperative platformer

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP
Published in
6 min readApr 5, 2021

--

Marriage is something I’ve yet to experience, but playing through Hazelight Studios’ It Takes Two provided a spirited (and insightful) glimpse into what to expect when I decide to tie myself down. A year ago, a plane ticket of mine to Canada was rendered useless when COVID-19 beset North America. Just as the fictional couple of Cody and May faced problems in It Takes Two, my relationship, too, was in conflict. A year later, the issues that plagued my Canadian girlfriend and I have been resolved; instead of fighting, we found ourselves embracing the distance between us by playing video games — and if there’s any perfect game for a couple, it’s most definitely It Takes Two.

In all honesty, I expected something special with this game; I’m a sucker for wholesome stories where couples resolve differences to live “happily ever after.” Not to mention, the exuberant demeanor of everyone’s favorite “fuck the Oscars!” guy, Josef Fares, does an excellent job at getting people excited for what he’s cooking up. When I finally got my eager hands on It Takes Two, my expectations were more than rewarded, and my $40 was well spent.

--

--

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP

Journalist writing about video games and the stories they tell | Student at the University of Florida